Milestones - 2015

50th Anniversary of the National Flag of Canada

Our red and white maple leaf flag was first raised over Parliament Hill 50 years ago on February 15, 1965. This is a significant and special milestone as Canadians prepare for the 150th anniversary of Confederation in 2017.

The 50th anniversary of our National Flag in 2015 allows Canadians to reflect on our flag and what it represents — a strong, proud and free country. Our national flag speaks to what we have accomplished together, to the historical moments that have served to define us, and to the promising future of this great country.

National Flag of Canada
“The flag is the symbol of the nation’s unity, for it, beyond any doubt, represents all the citizens of Canada without distinction of race, language, belief or opinion,” 
declared the Speaker of the Senate at the Inauguration of the new flag in 1965.

How to Celebrate?

Bicentennial of Sir John A. Macdonald's birth

Sir John A. Macdonald

As one of the Fathers of Confederation and Canada's first Prime Minister, Sir John A. Macdonald's (born January 11, 1815) role in shaping Canada's history is unparalleled. He was instrumental, with the assistance of Sir George-Étienne Cartier, in expanding Canada to the Pacific Ocean. During his years as Prime Minister, Canada experienced rapid growth and prosperity. Manitoba, British Columbia and Prince Edward Island joined Confederation, while the last spike of the Canadian Pacific Railway's transcontinental line was driven into the ground. He also created the North West Mounted Police, the precursor to the Royal Canadian Mounted Police.

The 100th anniversary of the writing of In Flanders Fields and the Second Battle of Ypres

John McCrae

In 2015, we commemorate the 100th anniversary of the writing of In Flanders Fields and the Second Battle of Ypres. This iconic poem was written on May 3, 1915 by Lieutenant-Colonel John McCrae during the Second Battle of Ypres — the first time gas was used in modern warfare.

Date modified:

Événements marquants - 2015

50e anniversaire du drapeau national du Canada

Notre drapeau rouge et blanc arborant la feuille d’érable a été hissé pour la première fois sur la Colline du Parlement il y a 50 ans, le 15 février 1965. Cet anniversaire en 2015 constitue un jalon important à l’approche du 150e anniversaire de notre Confédération en 2017.

Il permet aux Canadiens de réfléchir à ce que représente notre drapeau un pays fort, fier et libre. Notre drapeau national incarne ce que nous avons accompli ensemble, les moments historiques qui nous définissent et l’avenir prometteur de ce grand pays.

Le bicentenaire de la naissance de sir John A. Macdonald

Sir John A. Macdonald

Un des Pères de la Confédération et premier ministre du Canada, sir John A. Macdonald (né le 11 janvier 1815) a joué un rôle inégalé dans l'histoire du Canada. Il a contribué au développement du Canada jusqu'à l'océan Pacifique avec l'aide de sir George-Étienne Cartier. Sous sa gouverne, le Canada a connu une période de prospérité et de croissance rapide. Le Manitoba, la Colombie-Britannique et l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard sont entrés dans la Confédération, tandis qu'on posait les derniers rails de la ligne transcontinentale des chemins de fer du Canadien Pacifique. Il a également créé la Police à cheval du Nord-Ouest, l’ancêtre de la Gendarmerie royale du Canada.

Le 100e anniversaire de la rédaction de Au champ d’honneur et de la deuxième bataille d’Ypres

John McCrae

En 2015, nous commémorons le 100e anniversaire de la rédaction de Au champ d’honneur et de la deuxième bataille d’Ypres. Le Lieutenant‑colonel John McCrae a écrit ce poème emblématique le 3 mai 1915 durant la deuxième bataille d’Ypres — la première fois que le gaz a été utilisé dans le contexte de la guerre moderne.

Date de modification :