Milestones - 2016

Centennial of women's suffrage

Nellie McClung

The first provinces to grant women the right to vote in 1916 were Manitoba, Saskatchewan and Alberta. This was an early step in the path to equality and women's rights.

175th anniversary of the Election of Baldwin and Lafontaine - Leaders for Responsible Government

Map of Upper and Lower Canada

In 1841, Sir Louis-Hippolyte Lafontaine and Robert Baldwin, as well as Joseph Howe in Nova Scotia, worked to establish a responsible government, the system that we have today. Lafontaine, a champion of democracy and French-language rights, became the first leader of a responsible government.

175th anniversary of Sir Wilfrid Laurier's birth

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

The first French-Canadian Prime Minister after Confederation, Sir Wilfrid Laurier (born November 20, 1841) encouraged immigration to the West of Canada. Laurier was Prime Minister during a period of major industrialization and oversaw the inclusion of Alberta and Saskatchewan into Confederation. In 1910, he led the creation of the Royal Canadian Navy.

150th anniversary of the Fenian Raids

Fenian Raid Volunteers.

The raids of 1866 furthered the cause of Confederation by encouraging a united defence. The defence of the extensive Canadian border against Irish-American raiders was victorious and showed the devotion of Canadians to their nation. A number of Canadian Forces regiments can trace their heritage back to this time period.

Centennial of the Battles of the Somme and Beaumont-Hamel (First World War)

Canadian Soldiers Back from the Trenches during the Battle of the Somme in November 1916.

While this historic offensive decimated the Royal Newfoundland Regiment, it also prepared Canadians for their success at Vimy Ridge. The battalion was subsequently recognized for its unwavering bravery in the face of trying conditions.

Learn more about commemorating the centennial of the First World War.

75th anniversary of the Battle of Hong Kong

Canadian contingent in Hong Kong in 1941.

The battle of Hong Kong was 17 and a half days of intense fighting. When Allied forces were overrun on Christmas Day, December 25, 1941, those who had survived the battle found themselves in what would become four years of captivity in prisoner-of-war and Japanese work camps.

Learn more about commemorating the 75th anniversary of the Second World War.

Date modified:

Événements marquants - 2016

Le centenaire du droit de vote des femmes

Photo de Nellie McClung

Les premières provinces à accorder le droit de vote aux femmes en 1916 ont été le Manitoba, la Saskatchewan et l’Alberta. Cette acquisition a été la première étape vers l’égalité et les droits des femmes.

Le 175e anniversaire de l’élection de Baldwin et Lafontaine – chefs d’un gouvernement responsable

Carte du Haut et du Bas Canada.

En 1841, sir Louis-Hippolyte Lafontaine et Robert Baldwin, de même que Joseph Howe en Nouvelle-Écosse, ont collaboré à l’établissement d’un gouvernement responsable, le système que nous avons aujourd’hui. Lafontaine, défenseur de la démocratie et des droits des francophones, est devenu le premier chef d’un gouvernement responsable.

Le 175e anniversaire de la naissance de sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Le premier premier ministre canadien-français depuis la Confédération, sir Wilfrid Laurier (né le 20 novembre 1841) a encouragé l’immigration vers l’Ouest du Canada. Laurier était premier ministre pendant une période de grande industrialisation, et il a supervisé l’entrée de l’Alberta et de la Saskatchewan dans la Confédération. En 1910, il a dirigé la création de la Marine royale canadienne.

Le 150e anniversaire des raids des Fenians

Volontaires durant les raids des fenians.

Les raids de 1866 ont fait avancer la cause de la Confédération en encourageant une défense unie. La défense de l’immense frontière canadienne contre les maraudeurs américains d’origine irlandaise a été une réussite et a montré la dévotion des Canadiens à l’égard de leur pays. Le patrimoine de certaines unités des Forces canadiennes remonte à cette période.

Le centenaire des batailles de la Somme et de Beaumont-Hamel (Première Guerre mondiale)

Soldats canadiens de retour des tranchées durant la bataille de la Somme en novembre 1916.

Cette offensive historique a décimé le Royal Newfoundland Regiment, mais elle a également préparé les Canadiens à leur victoire à la crête de Vimy. Le bataillon a par la suite été reconnu pour son courage inébranlable dans des conditions difficiles.

Apprenez-en davantage sur la commémoration du centenaire de la
Première Guerre mondiale.

Le 75e anniversaire de la bataille de Hong Kong

Le contingent canadien à Hong Kong en 1941.

La bataille de Hong Kong est marquée par 17 jours et demi de combat intense. Après la capitulation des Forces alliées, le jour de Noël, le 25 décembre 1941, les soldats qui ont survécu à la bataille ont passé quatre ans en captivité dans des camps de prisonniers de guerre et des camps de travail japonais.

Apprenez-en davantage sur la commémoration du 75e anniversaire de la Seconde Guerre mondiale.

Date de modification :