Milestones - 2017

150th anniversary of Confederation

The Fathers of Confederation at the London Conference, 1866.

This major national anniversary and opportunity for Canada to celebrate great accomplishments highlights our country's proud past and bright future. Join us in 2017 as we celebrate the 150th anniversary of Canada!

Learn more about the history of Canada Day.

Centennial of the Battles of Vimy Ridge and Passchendaele

Canadian soldiers returning from Vimy Ridge.

These battles are recognized as turning points in Canadian history. They saw Canadians defend the values upon which our country was founded - freedom, democracy and the rule of law.

Learn more about commemorating the centennial of the First World War.

125th Anniversary of the Stanley Cup and the Centennial of the National Hockey League (NHL)

Hockey game at the Victoria Skating Rink, Montréal.

Donated by Governor General Lord Stanley in 1893, the Stanley Cup is the oldest trophy awarded to professional athletes in North America. It was first awarded to the Montreal Amateur Athletic Association at the end of the 1892-93 season. The NHL was organized in Montréal during the First World War after its predecessor organization, the National Hockey Association suspended operations. The NHL has grown into a professional league of 30 clubs, seven of which are located in Canada.

75th anniversary of the Dieppe Raid

Troops of the Cameron Highlanders of Canada in landing craft prior to the raid on Dieppe.

The men who perished at Dieppe were instrumental in saving countless lives on the 6th of June, 1944. While there can be no doubt that valuable lessons were learned, a frightful price was paid in those morning hours of August 19, 1942.

Learn more about commemorating the 75th anniversary of the Second World War.

50th anniversary of the Canada Games

Logo of the Canada Games.

In 1967, when Canada celebrated its centennial, the first Canada Games were held under the motto "Unity through sport." This competition brought together 1,800 athletes from 10 provinces and 2 territories and paved the way for what has grown to be Canada's largest multi-sport competition for young athletes. The Canada Games are a key step in the development of the next generation of Canada's national, international and Olympic champions.

Date modified:

Événements marquants - 2017

Le 150e anniversaire de la Confédération

Les Pères de la Confédération à la Conférence de Londres, 1866.

Cet anniversaire national important, lequel est une magnifique occasion pour le Canada de fêter de grandes réalisations, souligne le passé glorieux et l’avenir prometteur de notre pays. Soyez des nôtres pour célébrer le 150e anniversaire du Canada en 2017.

Apprenez-en davantage sur l’histoire de la fête du Canada.

Le centenaire de la bataille de la crête de Vimy et de Passchendaele

Les soldats canadiens de retour de la crête de Vimy

Ces batailles constituent des moments décisifs de l’histoire canadienne. Pour les Canadiens, elles ont été l’occasion de défendre les valeurs prônées lors de la fondation du pays : la liberté, la démocratie et la primauté du droit.

Apprenez-en davantage sur la commémoration du centenaire de la Première Guerre mondiale.

Le 125e anniversaire de la coupe Stanley et le 100e anniversaire de la Ligue nationale de hockey

Match de hockey à la patinoire Victoria de Montréal.

La coupe Stanley, un don promis par le gouverneur général du Canada, Lord Stanley, en 1892, est le plus vieux trophée décerné aux athlètes professionnels en Amérique du Nord. L'Association des athlètes amateurs de Montréal a été la première équipe à la remporter à la fin de la saison 1892-1893. La Ligue nationale de hockey (LNH) a été formée à Montréal durant la Première Guerre mondiale, après la suspension des activités de l’Association nationale de hockey. La LNH est devenue une ligue professionnelle qui compte 30 équipes, dont 7 sont canadiennes.

Le 75e anniversaire du raid de Dieppe

Soldats des Cameron Highlanders du Canada dans une péniche de débarquement avant le raid sur Dieppe.

Le 6 juin 1944, les hommes qui ont perdu la vie à Dieppe ont joué un rôle crucial en sauvant d'innombrables vies. Bien qu'il ne fasse aucun doute que de précieuses leçons ont été tirées de cet événement, le prix à payer au matin du 19 août 1942 s'est avéré effroyable.

Apprenez-en davantage sur la commémoration du 75e anniversaire de la Seconde Guerre mondiale.

Le 50e anniversaire des Jeux du Canada

Logo des Jeux du Canada.

En 1967, quand le Canada a célébré son centenaire, les premiers Jeux du Canada ont été organisés sous le thème « L’unité par le sport ». Cette compétition a réuni 1 800 athlètes provenant des 10 provinces et des 2 territoires, et a tracé la voie de ce qui est devenu la plus grande compétition multisports pour jeunes athlètes au pays. Les Jeux du Canada constituent une étape importante du développement de la prochaine génération de champions nationaux, internationaux et olympiques du Canada.

Date de modification :