Sir John A. Macdonald – Personal and Political Life

Early Life and Education

Black and white  photo of narrow street with row houses on either side and lanterns hanging from  the buildings, Glasgow, Scotland
Glasgow, Scotland
Source:© Library and Archives Canada

Early Life

John A. Macdonald was born in Scotland on January 11, 1815, the son of Hugh and Helen Macdonald. His family came to Canada in 1820 and settled in Kingston; they already had relatives living in the country. Macdonald had a brother who died in 1822 and two sisters, Margaret and Louisa.

For several years, Macdonald's father operated a general store in Kingston. Later the family moved to Hay Bay, a tiny village to the west of Kingston, and then took over running a flour mill in Glenora, in Prince Edward County. The family remained there for ten years.

Education

Black and white  arial view of city rooftops. Kingston, Upper Canada
Kingston, Upper Canada
Source: © Library and Archives Canada

Kingston, in the 1820s, with a population of 3,000, was one of the most important settlements in Upper Canada and had the best schools available in the area. When Macdonald was ten years old, he  returned to Kingston, living as a boarder while he attended grammar school. At fifteen, Macdonald  left school to start his legal training. For five years, Macdonald worked in the law office of a prominent Kingston lawyer, George Mackenzie and, at the age of twenty, became qualified to practice as a lawyer and opened his own law office.

The Young Lawyer

Black and white  photo of two-storey limestone house next to fence and tree
110-112 Rideau Street, Kingston
Source: Library and Archives Canada / C-004508

As Macdonald was establishing his practice, he stayed with his parents and sisters who had returned to Kingston. When his father died in 1841, he became the head of the family and was  responsible for their financial support. It was not a heavy drain on Macdonald's wallet to look after his family. From the very start, his law practice had been successful and he was a popular and busy lawyer.

The Young Politician

Portrait of Sir  John A. Macdonald standing and motioning toward a table
Portrait of Sir John A. Macdonald by William Sawyer, 1863
Source: © Parks Canada

It was natural for a young, ambitious man like Macdonald to think of entering politics, which he did in 1843 when he was elected an alderman in Kingston. But he already had his eye on a broader vista - the Legislative Assembly of the Province of Canada.

At that time, the Province of Canada was a British colony, composed of Canada West and Canada East--only the southern and eastern parts of present-day Ontario and parts of Quebec close to the St. Lawrence River. It was governed by a governor general and a Legislative Assembly. Macdonald ran as a representative for Kingston for the Legislative Assembly in 1844 and won.

Personal Life and Family

As he began in political career, he also began life as a married man. In 1843, Macdonald met and married his first wife, a cousin named Isabella Clark. The marriage was happy at first, but became Macdonald's greatest source of grief after his bride developed a debilitating, mysterious illness. The disease would ebb and flow for the better part of 13 years, and eventually claim her life.

Despite her illness, Isabella was able to deliver the couple's first child, a son named John Alexander who sadly died 13 months later. They had a second son, Hugh John. Isabella passed away in 1857, leaving Hugh to be raised mostly by his aunt while his father remained tied to his political duties. Hugh John Macdonald would go on to become premier of Manitoba.

Isabella Clark Macdonald
Portrait of Isabella Clark Macdonald, by William Sawyer, 1852

Macdonald devoted his time and energy into politics; however, he had amassed debts and several banks he had invested in personally and through his law practice, failed.  When his long-time law partner A.J. Macdonnell died in 1864, Macdonald was responsible for the firm's outstanding debts.  Macdonald was handling all of this as he was laying the groundwork for Confederation.

Macdonald would marry again on February 16, 1867 to Susan Agnes Bernard when he was in London finalizing the British North America Act that would make an assembly of provinces into the Dominion of Canada.  They had a daughter, Mary, who was born with a deformity and would never develop normally.  Nevertheless, Macdonald was devoted to her.  The second Mrs. Macdonald outlived her husband and became the Baroness Macdonald of Earnscliffe.

Many scholars and biographers believe that Macdonald’s legendary drinking was a response for the personal tragedies and disappointments he experienced throughout his personal life. "Macdonald's heart was rent by [Isabella's] suffering," wrote Kingston historian Louis J. Flynn. "The shock and sorrow of the death of their infant son prostrated the parents and they grew closer together but Isabella continued to be frail and sickly…His political successes never wholly made up for the failures and tragedies of his domestic life."

Lady Susan Agnes Macdonald sits on a  feather-blanket-draped chair, clutching her fan
Lady Susan Agnes Macdonald, wife of Sir John A. Macdonald, January 1885
Source: Library and Archives/Online MIKAN no. 3486506 (1 item)
Photo of a large multi-storied house sits  atop a hill, surrounded by leafless trees.
"Bellevue," Kingston, where Sir John A. Macdonald lived during his early married life, n.d.
Source: Library and Archives/ Online MIKAN no. 3532568
Hugh  John Macdonald stands on some grass, holding a bowler hat
Hugh John Macdonald 1850-1929 circa 1866
©Library and Archives Canada / C-020317

Early Political Career

When Macdonald became a member in 1844, the Legislative Assembly of the Province of Canada was a chaotic mix of political groups. In Canada West, there were three identifiable groups: conservative members of the Family Compact, newer, moderate conservatives like Macdonald, and reformers. In Canada East, there were the radical Rouges and the conservative Bleus. No one of these political groups on its own had enough members to form a government. Sometimes the reformers of Canada West and Rouges formed a large enough coalition that they had a majority in the Assembly and became the government. Sometimes the conservatives and the Bleus along with some moderate reformers had enough members of the Assembly that they were able to form a government. Because these coalition governments rarely kept for long the support they needed to stay in office, elections were a frequent occurrence.  In short, there was a political stalemate.

Macdonald's star began to rise very early;  in 1847 he was offered his first government post. Thereafter, whenever the coalition that he supported had a majority in the Assembly, Macdonald was selected to join the ministry (known today as the cabinet). A political friend at the time said of Macdonald: "He can get through more work in a given time than anybody I ever saw and do it well." But provincial politics were very unstable in these years and Macdonald was out of the government about as often as he was in it.

The Conferences and Confederation

For years, people had talked about bringing the British colonies in North America together under one government. Macdonald had never been enthusiastic for the idea, believing that the Province of Canada had a great future ahead of it without being tied to Nova Scotia or New Brunswick or Prince Edward Island. But the Province of Canada was becoming more and more difficult to govern and in the early 1860sMacdonald came to believe that it would be better in the long run to divide the Province into two, giving each part its own government and then join with the other British colonies to form a new country with a federal government.

Fathers of Confederation posing in front of  neoclassical building, PEI
Fathers of Confederation at Fanningbank, Lieutenant Governor's residence
Source: George P. Roberts / Library and Archives Canada / C-000733

In 1864, the Maritime Provinces decided to hold a meeting to discuss forming a union between Nova Scotia, New Brunswick, Prince Edward Island and Newfoundland.  Macdonald asked if representatives from the Province of Canada could attend and if the discussion could be broadened to include Canada.  In fact, the Charlottetown Conference and the Quebec Conference a month after ended up being about how to achieve a confederation between them all.  In Quebec, 72 resolutions were created what would be the constitution of Canada.  These were formulated into the British North America Act that was passed in London in 1867.

Macdonald after Confederation

Macdonald was knighted by Queen Victoria as a mark of appreciation for his role in bringing about Confederation. He became Canada's first prime minister and, between 1867 and his death in 1891, held that office for a total of nineteen years. Macdonald played a major role in the birth of Canada and he devoted the remainder of his life to giving shape to the new country.

After Confederation, he went to enlarge Canada's boundaries from sea to sea, built the Canadian Pacific Railway, defeated the North-West Rebellion (or North-West Resistance) and developed the National Policy.  He won the election of 1891 at age 76, still with a strong vision of Canada.  He suffered a stroke shortly after and died on June 6, 1891.

His accomplishments as prime minister were summarized by another great politician, Sir Wilfrid Laurier, in these words: "As to his statesmanship, it is written in the history of Canada. It may be said without any exaggeration whatever, that the life of Sir John A. Macdonald ... is the history of Canada."

Date modified:

Sir John A. Macdonald – Vie personnelle et politique

Jeunesse et études

Photo noir et blanc de rue étroite avec les maisons en rangée de chaque côté et des lanternes accrochées aux bâtiments, Glasgow, Écosse
Glasgow, Écosse
Source : © Bibliothèque et Archives Canada

Jeunesse

Fils de Hugh et d’Helen Macdonald, John A. Macdonald naît en Écosse le 11 janvier 1815. En 1820, la famille immigre au Canada et s’installe à Kingston, où elle a de la parenté. Macdonald a un frère, qui meurt en 1822, et deux sœurs, Margaret et Louisa. Hugh Macdonald tient un magasin général à Kingston pendant plusieurs années, puis déménage à Hay Bay, un petit village à l’ouest de Kingston. Il exploite ensuite une minoterie à Glenora, dans le comté de Prince Edward, où la famille vivra pendant 10 ans.

Études

Vue aérienne en noir et blanc sur les toits de la ville. Kingston, Haut-Canada
Kingston, Haut-Canada
Source : © Bibliothèque et Archives Canada

Dans les années 1820, avec ses 3 000 résidants, Kingston est l’un des principaux établissements du Haut-Canada et possède les meilleures écoles de la région. À 10 ans, Macdonald retourne donc à Kingston, où il est pensionnaire et fréquente l’école primaire. Macdonald n’a que 15 ans lorsqu’il quitte l’école pour commencer ses études de droit. Pendant cinq ans, Il travaille dans le cabinet d’un éminent avocat de Kingston, George Mackenzie, et à 20 ans, il se qualifie aux examens et ouvre son propre cabinet.

Le jeune avocat

Photo noir et blanc d’une maison à deux étages en pierre calcaire à côté d’une clôture et des arbres
110-112 rue Rideau, Kingston
Source : Bibliothèque et Archives Canada / C-004508

Au cours des années où il établit sa pratique de droit, Macdonald vit avec ses parents et ses sœurs, qui sont retournés à Kingston. À la mort de son père, en 1841, il devient chef de famille et il doit assurer la subsistance des siens. Cette obligation ne lui paraît pas trop lourde, car sa pratique connaît du succès dès le départ et il est un avocat populaire et très occupé.

Le jeune politicien

Portrait de Sir John A. Macdonald debout et faisant signe vers une table
Portrait de sir John A. Macdonald par William Sawyer, 1863
Source : © Parcs Canada

Jeune et ambitieux, Macdonald songe tout naturellement à une carrière politique. En 1843, il est élu conseiller municipal à Kingston. Toutefois, il a déjà des visées plus ambitieuses : il veut représenter Kingston à l’Assemblée législative de la province du Canada.

À l’époque, la province du Canada est une colonie britannique composée du Canada-Ouest et du Canada-Est. Elle couvre le Sud et l’Est de l’Ontario actuel et une partie du Québec, près du fleuve Saint-Laurent. Elle a à sa tête un gouverneur général qui compte sur l’aide d’une Assemblée législative. En 1844, Macdonald présente sa candidature à l’Assemblée législative et l’emporte.

Vie personnelle et familiale

Au moment où il fait son entrée en politique, Macdonald commence sa vie d’homme marié. En 1843, il rencontre et épouse sa première femme, sa cousine Isabella Clark. Heureux au début, leur mariage devient pour Macdonald sa plus grande source de chagrin lorsqu’une mystérieuse maladie débilitante atteint son épouse. Leur vie sera remplie de hauts et de bas durant près de 13 ans, soit jusqu’au décès d’Isabella.

Malgré la maladie, Isabella met au monde en août 1847 l’aîné du couple, un garçon nommé John Alexander qui, malheureusement, mourra à 13 mois. Le couple aura un deuxième garçon, Hugh John. Après la mort d’Isabella en 1857, la tante de Hugh veillera à son éducation à la place de sir John, accaparé par ses responsabilités politiques. Hugh John Macdonald deviendra plus tard premier ministre du Manitoba.

Isabella Clark Macdonald
Portrait d'Isabella Clark Macdonald, par William Sawyer, 1852

Macdonald consacre son temps et son énergie à la politique. Cependant, il a accumulé des dettes personnelles et plusieurs des banques dans lesquelles il a investi, personnellement ou au nom de son cabinet d’avocats, font faillite. La mort, en 1864, de son associé de longue date A.J. Macdonnell le laisse seul pour rembourser les dettes de son cabinet au moment où il prépare le terrain en vue de la Confédération.

Le 16 février 1867, Macdonald épouse en secondes noces Susan Agnes Bernard alors qu’il est à Londres pour mettre la dernière main à l’Acte de l’Amérique du Nord britannique, qui sera à l’origine du Dominion du Canada. Leur fille, Mary, naît avec une malformation et ne connaîtra pas une croissance normale. Cela n’empêchera pourtant pas Macdonald de chérir son unique fille. Mme Macdonald survivra à son mari et deviendra baronne Macdonald d’Earnscliffe.

Plusieurs chercheurs et biographes croient que la légendaire dépendance à l’alcool de Macdonald est une façon de faire face aux malheurs et aux déceptions survenus dans sa vie personnelle. « Les souffrances d’Isabella déchiraient le cœur de Macdonald, écrira Louis J. Flynn, spécialiste de l’histoire de la ville de Kingston. Les parents, accablés de chagrin par le choc de la mort de leur jeune fils, se sont rapprochés à la suite de cette épreuve, mais Isabella est demeurée fragile et chétive... Les réussites politiques de Macdonald n’ont jamais réussi à compenser totalement les échecs et les tragédies de sa vie familiale. »

Lady Susan Agnes Macdonald, assise sur une chaise drapée d’une couverture de plume, tient un éventail.
Lady Susan Agnes Macdonald, épouse de sir John A. Macdonald, janvier 1885
Source: Bibliothèque et Archives/Online MIKAN no. 3486506
Photo d’une grande maison de plusieurs étages située sur une colline, entourée d’arbres sans feuilles.
Villa Bellevue, à Kingston, où sir John A. Macdonald a vécu les premières années de son mariage.
Source : Bibliothèque et Archives/ Online MIKAN no. 3532568
Hugh John Macdonald se trouve sur l’herbe, tenant un chapeau melon
Hugh John Macdonald, 1850-1929, vers 1866
Source : © Bibliothèque et Archives Canada / C-020317

Début de carrière politique

Quand Macdonald devient membre de l’Assemblée législative de la province du Canada, en 1844, celle-ci est un véritable fouillis de groupes politiques. Au Canada-Ouest, on trouve trois groupes : les conservateurs du Pacte des familles, de nouveaux conservateurs modérés, comme Macdonald, et des réformistes. Au Canada-Est, il y a les Rouges radicaux et les Bleus conservateurs. Aucun de ces groupes n’a, à lui seul, assez de députés pour former un gouvernement. Parfois, les réformistes du Canada-Ouest et les Rouges forment une coalition qui leur permet d’obtenir la majorité à l’Assemblée et de former le gouvernement. Parfois, ce sont les conservateurs, les Bleus et quelques réformistes modérés qui s’associent. Comme ces gouvernements de coalition arrivent rarement à conserver bien longtemps le soutien dont ils ont besoin pour rester en place, on doit souvent organiser des élections. Le gouvernement est dans une impasse.

L’étoile politique de Macdonald monte très rapidement. En 1847, on lui offre un premier poste au gouvernement. Par la suite, chaque fois que la coalition qu’il appuie obtient la majorité à l’Assemblée, Macdonald est choisi pour faire partie du Ministère (aujourd’hui, le Cabinet). Un allié politique de l’époque dit de Macdonald qu’il peut abattre plus de besogne que quiconque, et le faire bien. Mais la politique provinciale du temps est très instable et Macdonald est aussi souvent exclu du gouvernement qu’il en fait partie.

Les conférences et la Confédération

Depuis des années, il est question de réunir toutes les colonies britanniques d’Amérique du Nord sous un gouvernement unique. Macdonald n’a jamais été très enthousiaste à cette idée. Il croit que la province du Canada a un bel avenir devant elle même si elle ne s’associe pas à la Nouvelle-Écosse, au Nouveau-Brunswick ou à l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard. Toutefois, la province du Canada est de plus en plus difficile à gouverner. Dans les années 1860, Macdonald en vient à croire qu’il vaudrait mieux, à long terme, diviser la province en deux et donner à chacune des parties un gouvernement distinct, puis se joindre aux autres colonies britanniques pour former un nouveau pays doté d’un gouvernement fédéral.

Les Pères de la Confédération posant devant un bâtiment néoclassique, Î.-P.-É.
Les Pères de la Confédération à Fanningbank, résidence du lieutenant-gouverneur
Source : George P. Roberts / Bibliothèque et Archives Canada / C-000733

En 1864, les provinces maritimes décident d’organiser une rencontre pour discuter de l’union éventuelle de la Nouvelle-Écosse, du Nouveau-Brunswick, de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard et de Terre-Neuve. Macdonald demande si des représentants de la province du Canada peuvent participer à la rencontre et si la discussion peut porter sur l’ensemble du Canada. En fin de compte, la conférence de Charlottetown et celle de Québec, tenue un mois plus tard, ont porté sur la création d’une confédération entre toutes les provinces. Les 72 résolutions formulées à Québec allaient devenir la constitution du Canada et faire partie de l’Acte de l’Amérique du Nord britannique, adopté en 1867, à Londres.

Macdonald après la Confédération

En reconnaissance de sa contribution à la création de la Confédération, Macdonald est anobli par la reine Victoria. Il est le premier à occuper le poste de premier ministre du Canada et, de 1867 à sa mort en 1891, il conservera ce poste pendant 19 ans. Ayant joué un rôle majeur dans la naissance du Canada, Macdonald consacre le reste de sa vie à façonner le nouveau pays.

Après la création de la Confédération, Macdonald œuvre à l’expansion des limites du Canada d’un océan à l’autre, à la construction du chemin de fer Canadien Pacifique, à la répression de la rébellion du Nord-Ouest (ou la résistance du Nord-Ouest) et à la mise au point de la Politique nationale.

Un autre grand politicien, sir Wilfrid Laurier, résume ses réalisations comme premier ministre en ces termes : « Quant à sa vie d’homme d’État, elle est écrite dans l’histoire du Canada. On peut dire sans exagération que la vie de sir John A. Macdonald […] est l’histoire du Canada. »

Date de modification :