His Excellency the Right Honourable David Johnston, Governor General of Canada, proclaimed 2015 as the "Year of Sport" in Canada. The overarching theme was Canada: A Leading Sport Nation.

The proclamation celebrated the role sport plays in our Canadian identity and encouraged Canadians to participate in and seek the benefits of sport. From local playgrounds, to recreational sport leagues all the way to our inspiring high performance athletes, sport is vital to the cultural fabric of our nation.

The Year of Sport was a proactive pan-Canadian celebration. It built momentum on the road to 2017 and the 150th anniversary of Confederation by tapping into the rich history of Canadian sport, including past sport milestones, the contributions of individual Canadians, and Canada’s contribution to the world of sport. It focused on making the most of existing sport events and other celebratory activities to highlight the advantages of sport to Canadians.

Throughout 2015, we encouraged all Canadians to celebrate sport in their neighbourhoods, towns and get involved as a volunteer or spectator in one of the 60+ international single-sport events and approximately 55 national single-sport championships hosted in Canada.

Date modified:

Son Excellence le très honorable David Johnston, gouverneur général du Canada, a proclamé 2015 « Année du sport » au Canada. Le thème principal est le suivant : Le Canada, une grande nation sportive.

Cette proclamation visait à souligner le rôle que joue le sport dans notre identité canadienne et encourageait les Canadiens à faire du sport afin d’en retirer tous les avantages. Que ce soit dans les terrains de jeux de nos quartiers, dans les ligues sportives récréatives ou dans les performances inspirantes de nos athlètes de haut niveau, le sport demeure un élément essentiel du tissu culturel de notre pays.

L’Année du sport fut une célébration pancanadienne proactive. Les premiers pas sur le chemin qui nous mènera à 2017, année du 150e anniversaire de la Confédération, l’Année du sport puisait dans la riche histoire sportive du Canada, y compris les exploits sportifs réalisés, la contribution de certains Canadiens et celle du Canada au monde du sport. Dans le cadre de cette Année, on s’efforça principalement de profiter le plus possible des événements sportifs pour faire ressortir les avantages de la pratique du sport pour les Canadiens.

Tout au long de 2015, nous avons encouragé tous les Canadiens à célébrer le sport dans leur quartier ou leur ville et à prendre part, à titre de bénévole ou de spectateur, à l’une des 60 manifestations sportives unisport de calibre international et à l’un des 55 championnats nationaux unisport au Canada.

Date de modification :