About Northern Lights

The show

Northern Lights is a free bilingual show presented nightly from July 9 to September 10, 2016. Show times: in July at 10:00 p.m., in August at 9:30 p.m., and in September at 9:00 p.m.

This experience of sound and light is a thrilling thematic journey through Canada’s history. Combining bold digital technology with the architectural splendour of the Parliament Buildings, the show illuminates Canadian stories of nation-building, partnership, discovery, valour, pride and vision at the heart of our country.

Audiences have been captivated by sound and light shows on Parliament Hill for more than 30 years.

Key figures, events and achievements from Canadian history are brought to life using five distinct artistic styles. All are presented in spectacular detail, with stirring narration and an original score, against the backdrop of the Centre Block and Peace Tower.

The narrative unfolds through five thematic “books”:

Book One: Foundations of the Nation.
A fluid ink-in-water style is used to paint stories of how people from all over the world have expanded our foundations. From traditional indigenous ways of life and early European settlements to modern citizenship ceremonies, these stories are linked by our desire to call Canada “home”.
Book Two: Strength in Partnership.
Partnership and determination have made Canada strong. Using an illustration style inspired by classical paintings, this book explores alliances that have shaped our country.
Book Three: Discovery and Adventure.
A lithographic style takes us on a voyage showcasing the achievements of explorers, scientists and innovators whose quests into the unknown continue to inspire us to follow our dreams.
Book Four: Valour.
This powerful book combines dramatic performances with archival materials and charcoal drawings to honour the men and women who have served their country, both at home and abroad, in military conflicts since the First World War.
Book Five: Pride and Vision.
Inspired by the stained glass windows of the Memorial Chamber in the Peace Tower, this intensely colourful book celebrates the natural grandeur of our country and the diversity of her people.

Northern Lights is the 6th edition of the Sound and Light Show on Parliament Hill since 1984, and runs for the next five consecutive summers (2015-2019).

The technology

What kind of technology is required to turn the Centre Block on Parliament Hill into a screen more than 143 metres (470 feet) long and 30 storeys high?

Projectors

Seventeen different projectors work together to form a seamless image on the front façade of Centre Block, creating a fully immersive high definition visual experience.

Lighting Effects

During Northern Lights, the Centre Block façade is flooded with light by more than 150 moving and static lighting fixtures. These include 50 automated lights, some of which can produce more than 16.5 million different hues, and 38 low-energy LED lights which produce more than 4.2 billion different hues. This complex lighting system is controlled by two computers and more than 15 km (49,213 feet) of wiring. High-impact lighting and environmentally-friendly smoke effects enhance the experience. For the first time, the sound and light show on Parliament Hill will use a color laser to punctuate transitions and add depth, making this a truly multimedia show.

Audio

Northern Lights features an original score, stirring narration and captivating sound effects. These sounds are brought to life on the front lawn of Parliament Hill using an audio system custom built for the show. The rich soundtrack is mixed using a 7.1 surround sound system, with 18 speakers set up in 8 different locations around the site. This all-new system was redesigned to improve the clarity of the narration and soundtrack, and to create a more immersive experience. The audio system has a total of 38,000 watts of power, 15,000 of which comes from the subwoofers. The audio signal is fully digital.

Video

Video programming for a large-scale multimedia show like Northern Lights requires very specialized software and a powerful control system. The show uses 10 different servers, almost 200 gigabytes of processing power, and 80 gigabytes of video RAM. The image projected on the Centre Block is comprised of up to 35 million pixels (to put this in perspective, a high definition television screen can display just over 2 million pixels at a time).

Signal Management

With a show as complex as Northern Lights, many different types of equipment have to communicate with each other flawlessly, and this is accomplished through an intricate show control system that links lighting, video, audio, time code, network and control signals. This amazing system, designed by the show’s technical director and his team, uses 150 km of cable, including just over 7.5 km of fibre optic cable, and almost a kilometre of speaker line. There are four different networks, one of which is entirely dedicated to the safety systems related to the show’s laser. The show’s system includes more than 2,500 individual signal connections, all of which must work together seamlessly to bring the show to life.

The Cube

The projection trailer in the Centre Aisle is covered with LED screens on three sides. This “CUBE” of video screens counts down to show time and hosts interactive games before the show. During Northern Lights, the LED screens help tell the story, and a colour laser housed in the CUBE, beams out onto Parliament.

The interactive CUBE activities begin about one hour prior to the start of Northern Lights and run approximately 55 minutes.

Acknowledgements

Exclusive sponsor

Manulife exclusive sponsor of Sound and Light show

Artistic team

Canadian Heritage worked with Idées au cube (id3) of Montréal for the creation of Northern Lights. One of the largest audio-visual production and corporate events firms in Quebec, id3 is a specialist in graphic and multimedia production. With more than 30 years of active experience in the field of communications, id3 has produced an impressive array of videos and multimedia communication tools, many of which have garnered industry awards.

General acknowledgements

Canadian Heritage would like to thank the following individuals for their contributions to Northern Lights:

  • Dr. Jonathan Vance
  • Jean-Pierre Morin
  • Warrant Officer (Retired) Philip Palmer, CD
  • Colonel Jennie Carignan
  • The families of Private Frank Lind, Private William Henry Bell, Nursing Sister Alice Isaacson, Private Charlie Ross Francis, Lance Corporal Hermel Pelletier, Able Seaman Earl Gray, and Private Jacques Raymond.
Date modified:

Au sujet de Lumières du Nord

Le spectacle

Lumières du Nord est un spectacle bilingue gratuit présenté tous les soirs du 10 juillet au 3 septembre 2018. Horaire des présentations : 22 h en juillet, 21 h 30 en août et 21 h en septembre.

Laissez-vous transporter par la magie du spectacle son et lumière — un voyage thématique passionnant à la découverte de l’histoire du Canada. Ce spectacle, qui marie la technologie numérique de pointe à la beauté architecturale des édifices du Parlement, propose des récits canadiens inspirants qui mettent en lumière les grands fondements du pays, l’importance de la collaboration, les découvertes, la bravoure ainsi que la fierté et la vision d’un peuple.

Les spectacles de son et de lumière sur la colline du Parlement captivent le public depuis 30 ans.

Des personnages, événements et réalisations clés de l’histoire canadienne prennent vie grâce à cinq styles artistiques distincts. Accompagnées d’une narration prenante et de musique originale, les projections révèlent les scènes de façon saisissante sur la tour de la Paix et l’édifice du Centre.

Le récit se déroule à travers cinq « livres » thématiques :

Premier livre : Fondements d’une nation.
Un style fluide de type « encre dans l’eau » illustre comment des personnes de partout dans le monde nous ont permis d’élargir nos horizons. Des modes de vie traditionnels des Autochtones et des débuts de la colonisation par les Européens jusqu’aux cérémonies de citoyenneté modernes, ces histoires sont liées par notre désir commun de faire du Canada notre pays.
Deuxième livre : Force et partenariats.
Les partenariats et la détermination ont contribué à faire du Canada un pays fort. Au moyen d’un style d’illustration inspiré des peintres classiques, ce livre explore les alliances qui ont façonné notre pays.
Troisième livre : Découvertes et aventures.
Des illustrations au style lithographique nous invitent à découvrir les réussites d'explorateurs, de scientifiques et de créateurs dont la quête de l’inconnu nous inspire encore aujourd’hui et nous incite à réaliser nos rêves.
Quatrième livre : Courage.
Ce puissant livre allie des performances dramatiques à des documents d’archives et à des dessins au fusain pour rendre hommage aux hommes et aux femmes qui ont servi leur pays, tant ici qu’à l’étranger, lors de conflits militaires depuis la Première Guerre mondiale.
Cinquième livre : Vision et fierté.
Inspiré des vitraux de la Chapelle du Souvenir de la Tour de la Paix, ce livre haut en couleur célèbre la majestueuse nature de notre pays ainsi que sa diversité culturelle.

Lumières du Nord est la 6e présentation du spectacle son et lumière sur la colline du Parlement depuis 1984, et il sera présenté pendant les cinq prochains étés (de 2015 à 2019).

La technologie

Quel type de technologie est nécessaire pour transformer l’édifice du Centre, sur la colline du Parlement, en un écran de 143 mètres (470 pieds) de long et 30 étages de haut?

Projecteurs

Dix-sept projecteurs différents envoient une image uniforme sur la façade de l’édifice du Centre, offrant une expérience visuelle immersive en haute définition.

Effets lumineux

Pendant le spectacle Lumières du Nord, la façade de l’édifice du Centre est inondée de la lumière provenant de plus de 150 dispositifs d’éclairage mobiles et fixes. On compte, notamment, 50 projecteurs automatisés, dont certains peuvent produire plus de 16,5 millions de teintes différentes, et 38 lumières DEL à faible consommation d’énergie pouvant produire plus de 4,2 milliards de teintes. Ce système d’éclairage complexe est contrôlé par deux ordinateurs et raccordé à plus de 15 kilomètres (49 213 pieds) de câbles. La présentation est rehaussée par un éclairage à fort impact visuel et des effets de fumée respectueux de l’environnement. Pour la première fois, un dispositif laser couleur sera utilisé dans le cadre du spectacle son et lumière pour ponctuer les transitions et ajouter de la profondeur, faisant de cette expérience un véritable spectacle multimédia.

Audio

Lumières du Nord présente une musique originale, une narration dynamique et des effets sonores captivants. Ces sons s’animent sur le parterre de la colline du Parlement grâce à un système audio conçu sur mesure pour le spectacle. La riche piste sonore est mixée à l’aide d’un système audio ambiophonique 7.1 à 18 haut­parleurs répartis à huit endroits différents sur le site. Ce tout nouveau système a été mis en place afin d’améliorer la clarté de la narration et de la piste sonore, et ainsi offrir une expérience plus immersive aux spectateurs. Ce système audio a un puissance totale de 38 000 watts dont 15 000 watts proviennent des caissons d’extrêmes graves. Le signal audio est entièrement numérique.

Vidéo

La programmation vidéo d’un spectacle multimédia de grande envergure, tel que Lumières du Nord, exige un logiciel très spécialisé de même qu’un puissant système de contrôle. La diffusion du spectacle exige dix serveurs différents, une puissance de traitement de près de 200 gigaoctets, et une mémoire vidéo de 80 gigaoctets. L’image projetté sur l’édifice du Centre est composé de plus de 35 millions de pixels. (À titre indicatif, un écran de télévision haute définition peut afficher une image d’un peu plus de deux millions de pixels à la fois.)

Gestion des signaux

Pour réaliser un spectacle aussi complexe que Lumières du Nord, de nombreux types d’équipement doivent communiquer parfaitement entre eux, et cela est possible grâce à un système complexe qui relie les signaux lumineux, vidéo, audio, ainsi que les signaux de code temporel, de réseau et de contrôle. Cet impressionnant système, conçu par le directeur technique du spectacle et son équipe, est raccordé à 150 km de câble, incluant un peu plus de 7,5 km de câble de fibre optique, et avec près d’un kilomètre de filage pour les hauts parleurs. Quatre réseaux sont mis à contribution, dont un est entièrement réservé aux systèmes de sécurité reliés au dispositif laser utilisé pour le spectacle. Le système comporte plus de 2 500 connexions distinctes de signaux qui doivent toutes interagir de façon transparente pour donner vie au spectacle.

Le Cube

La remorque de projection dans l’allée centrale de la colline est recouverte d’écrans à DEL sur trois côtés. Ce «CUBE» d’écrans présente des éléments interactifs qui invitent les spectateurs à participer à des jeux avant le spectacle et fait le décompte du temps restant avant le début de la projection. Durant Lumières du Nord, les écrans à DEL viennent appuyer l’histoire racontée sur l’édifice du Centre. Le CUBE abrite aussi un laser de couleur qui est pulsé sur le Parlement.

Le CUBE interactif est en fonction environ une heure avant la présentation de Lumières du Nord et les activités se déroulent pendant environ 55 minutes.

Remerciements

Commanditaire exclusif

Manuvie commanditaire exclusif du spectacle Son et lumière

Équipe artistique

Patrimoine canadien a travaillé avec Idées au cube (id3), une firme montréalaise, pour créer Lumières du Nord. id3 est l’une des plus grandes firmes de production audiovisuelle et événementielle au Québec et elle se spécialise dans les productions graphiques et multimédias. Forte de plus de 30 ans d’expérience active dans le domaine des communications, id3 a produit un nombre impressionnant de vidéos et d’outils de communication multimédia, dont l’excellence a été reconnue maintes fois dans l’industrie.

Remerciements généraux

Patrimoine canadien désire remercier les personnes suivantes pour leur contribution à Lumières du Nord :

  • Jonathan Vance, PH. D.
  • Jean-Pierre Morin
  • Adjudant (retraité) Philip Palmer, CD
  • Colonel Jennie Carignan
  • Les familles des soldats Frank Lind, William Henry Bell, Charlie Ross Francis et Jacques Raymond, de l’infirmière militaire Alice Isaacson, du caporal suppléant Hermel Pelletier et du matelot de 2e classe Earl Gray.
Date de modification :