Temporary exhibits

Explore the art that adds warmth and vibrancy to the streets, parks and plazas of Ottawa–Gatineau. Temporary exhibits in Canada’s Capital Region showcase artistic achievements from across the country, celebrate our diverse identity and highlight significant milestones in Canadian history.

Call for proposals of a graphic image

Canadian artists, graphic designers and illustrators between 18 and 30 years old are invited to submit an image that represents Canada’s diversity and uniqueness of today. The selected image will be reproduced and installed in the heart of Canada’s Capital from spring 2017 to spring 2018. Read the contest’s eligibility details and regulations and make sure to submit your image before May 1, 2017.

Art in the Capital

Many factors contribute to making a great capital region and public art is one of them. The Art in the Capital program exhibits public artworks created by Canadian artists in Canada’s Capital Region. These exhibits are seasonal and change every couple of years.

A number of thought-provoking, evocative and fun installations will be exhibited in Ottawa and Gatineau region during 2017/2018.

New: In Fine Feather

An unusual and exhilarating look at the migratory birds of Canada through the eyes of art students from Mount Allison University in Sackville, New Brunswick. This exhibit, which is a collaboration with Canadian Wildlife Service of Environment and Climate Change Canada and managed by Canadian Heritage, will be on display at Laurier Street, between Victoria and Hôtel-de-Ville Streets in Gatineau from spring until December 2017.

The theme was chosen to mark the 100th anniversary of the Migratory Birds Convention Act, one of the first wildlife conservation laws in the world.

The works of 14 incredibly talented art students are displayed in the exhibit:

Untitled (detail)
Kevin Melanson
Woodcut/monoprint (quadriptych)
  • Isabel Francolini – Red Knot, Common Nighthawk, Canada Warbler
  • Brenna MacMillan – Patterns
  • Lucy Koshan – Untitled (Migratory path of the Semipalmated sandpiper)
  • Savannah Harris – Flight
  • Hilary Drake – Lapland Longspur, Bicknell’s Thrush, Buff-breasted Sandpiper, Orchard Oriole, Le Conte’s Sparrow, Blackpoll Warbler, Purple Sandpiper, White-rumped Sandpiper, Baltimore Oriole, Black-throated Blue Warbler, Smith’s Longspur, Golden-crowned Sparrow
  • Sylvan Hamburger – Border Crossing
  • Corryn Bamber – To and From
  • Nelligan Letourneau – Cedar Waxwing Duo, Pair of Yellow Warblers, Barn Swallow Buds
  • Melissa Brunet – 2 Homes
  • Adrian Kiva – Untitled
  • Emma Hoch – At Risk
  • Sara Camus – Hairy Woodpecker
  • Evan Furness – Last call from marshlands
  • Kevin Melanson – Untitled

Learn more about migratory birds evoked in the works on Environment and Climate Change Canada.

Continuing Exhibits

Until May 2018, discover for yourself the work of these Canadian artists who were initially presented in 2014 and 2015 at Passages insolites in Quebec, an event financed by the City of Quebec and produced by EXMURO arts publics.

Solitary by Diane Landry (in collaboration with Francis Labissonnière) at York Street /Jeanne d’Arc Courtyard in Ottawa.
Monumental Misunderstanding (in French only) by Francis Montillaud at Laurier/Portage Bridge in Gatineau.
The Odyssey (in French only) by Cooke-Sasseville at parc Montcalm-Taché in Gatineau.

Tipping Point by José Luis Torres at the Clarendon Courtyard in Ottawa.

We also invite you to pause for a public art break and admire sculptures from Canadian artists Marc-Antoine Côté and Randall Anderson. Until October 2017, their works are displayed on the public plazas on the south side of the Alexandra Bridge in Ottawa (across from the National Gallery of Canada).

Il/elle n’a pas de nom from Marc-Antoine Côté located on the Alexandra Bridge Plaza (photo Studio Versa)
Zoom! V2 from Randall Anderson located on the Alexandra Bridge Plaza (photo Studio Versa)

Art in the Capital is one of several programs of the Department of Canadian Heritage that exhibit seasonal public art projects throughout the Capital Region, allowing visitors and residents alike to see great Canadian art in an outdoor environment free of charge.

Art in the Courtyards

The Sussex Courtyards are a sequence of five inner courtyards located behind Sussex Drive, in the ByWard Market area of Ottawa. They are popular during the warmer seasons and represent an oasis of peace and shade for visitors and locals, as well as providing seating areas, cafe terraces, and boutiques.

The Art in the Courtyards program showcases Canadian art and artists, by presenting exhibits on a range of themes, in these unexpected outdoor locations.

In 2016, we celebrate the 100th anniversary of women’s suffrage in Canada. To mark this milestone, Art in the Courtyards 2016 honours the work of 16 women artists from across the country. These artworks were chosen from the Canada Council Art Bank, the largest collection of contemporary Canadian art in the world, which includes the work of over 1200 Canadian women artists.

Some reproductions of works in the Art in the Courtyards exhibition
  • Visonary and Daring – Canadian Women Artists
  • Kenojuak Ashevak – Autumn Spirits
  • Joyce Wieland – Laura Secord Saves Upper Canada
  • Molly Lamb Bobak – Rink Theme – Skaters
  • Eleanor Bond – IV Converting the Powell River Mill to a Recreation and Retirement Centre
  • Ghitta Caiserman – Untitled B (Homage to the Wallendas)
  • Marcelle Ferron – La rive et l’écorce
  • Betty Goodwin – Folded Shirt
  • Isabelle Hayeur – Décharge
  • Wanda Koop – Red Dot
  • Rita Letendre – Blues II
  • Landon Mackenzie – Winter 1984 (Animal in a Circle)
  • Sanaz Mazinani – Woman Reading on Bus, Tehran, Iran
  • Meryl McMaster – Jin
  • Daphne Odjig – Thunderbird Woman
  • Mary Pratt – Pears on a Green Glass Plate
  • Françoise Sullivan – Série Les Cormorans no 7

Château Laurier Terrace Exhibit

The Château Laurier Terrace Exhibit, overlooking the Ottawa Locks of the Rideau Canal

The lower terrace of the historic Fairmont Château Laurier is the ideal location for an annual outdoor exhibit. Overlooking the Ottawa Locks of the Rideau Canal, with views of Parliament, the Ottawa River, Canadian Museum of History and the Gatineau Hills, this image-based summer display adds to the enjoyment of such a scenic and breathtaking venue.

Confederation Boulevard Banners

Banners on Confederation Boulevard

Each year Canadian Heritage flies over 500 banners along Confederation Boulevard, the Capital’s ceremonial route in downtown Ottawa–Gatineau. The banners highlight Canada’s provinces and territories and special anniversaries.

  • Provincial and Territorial Banners
    • The colourful provincial and territorial banners provide a window on Canada. Each year we focus on a different theme to showcase the character of each part of the country.

  • Commemorative Banners
    • We also have special commemorative banner series that highlights significant milestones in Canadian history, Canadian culture and special events, the themes for which vary from year to year.

Decoding ART

Scan, listen and discover art in a whole new way with Decoding ART

The Decoding ART program uses modern technology to help interpret monuments and public art in Canada’s Capital Region. Visitors can access audio-visual capsules by scanning a QR code with their mobile device. The codes are found on Decoding ART signs located near select works.

Currently, the program offers interpretive clips for both adults and children at 14 different monuments and works of public art in Ottawa-Gatineau.

Plaza Bridge Photo Exhibit

The Plaza Bridge Photo Exhibit, located across from the National War Memorial

The Plaza Bridge, across from the National War Memorial, is the location of an annual outdoor image-based exhibit from May to October.

The exhibit is in a large and visually dynamic format, and offers visitors to Canada’s Capital engaging and interesting information on significant Canadian anniversaries, achievements or historical events.

The seasonal exhibits reflect and celebrate our country and our people through art. Find out more about other forms of commemorative and public art in Canada’s Capital Region.

Date modified:

Expositions temporaires

Explorez l’art qui ajoute chaleur et dynamisme aux rues, aux parcs et aux places publiques d’Ottawa–Gatineau. Les expositions temporaires de la région de la capitale du Canada présentent des réalisations artistiques d’exception des quatre coins du pays qui célèbrent notre identité aux nombreuses facettes, tout en mettant l’accent sur des étapes importantes de l’histoire canadienne.

Appel de propositions d’une image graphique

Les artistes, designers graphiques et illustrateurs canadiens âgés entre 18 et 30 ans sont invités à soumettre une image qui représente la diversité et l’unicité du Canada d’aujourd’hui. Cette image graphique sera installée en plein cœur de la capitale du Canada, à partir du printemps 2017 jusqu’au printemps 2018. Consultez les règlements et les détails du concours, et soumettez votre œuvre au plus tard le 1er mai 2017.

Art dans la capitale

De nombreux facteurs contribuent à façonner une grande capitale et l’art public en fait partie. Le programme Art dans la capitale présente des œuvres d’art public créées par des artistes canadiens dans la région de la capitale nationale. Ces expositions sont saisonnières et changent tous les deux ans.

Plusieurs installations évocatrices, amusantes et qui suscitent la réflexion seront exposées à Ottawa et à Gatineau pendant 2017 et 2018.

Nouveau : Aux oiseaux

Des créations exaltantes et hors du commun mettant en vedette les oiseaux migrateurs, à travers le regard d’étudiants en arts de l’université Mount Allison à Sackville au Nouveau-Brunswick. L’exposition est une collaboration avec le Service canadien de la faune d’Environnement et Changement climatique Canada, et est chapeautée par Patrimoine canadien. Elle sera présentée à Gatineau sur la rue Laurier, entre les rues Victoria et Hôtel-de-Ville à Gatineau, jusqu’en décembre 2017.

Le thème a été choisi pour souligner le 100e anniversaire de la Loi sur la convention concernant les oiseaux migrateurs, l’une des premières mesures de conservation de la faune au monde.

L’exposition présente les œuvres de 14 étudiants en arts extrêmement talentueux :

Sans titre (détail)
Kevin Melanson
Gravure sur bois de fil/monotype (quadriptyque)
  • Isabel Francolini – Bécasseau maubèche, Engoulevent d’Amérique, Paruline du Canada
  • Brenna MacMillan – Parcours
  • Lucy Koshan – Sans titre (parcours migratoire du Bécasseau semipalmé)
  • Savannah Harris – Vol
  • Hilary Drake – Plectrophane lapon, Grive de Bicknell, Bécasseau roussâtre, Oriole des vergers, Bruant de Le Conte, Paruline rayée, Bécasseau violet, Bécasseau à croupion blanc, Oriole de Baltimore, Paruline bleue, Plectrophane de Smith, Bruant à couronne dorée
  • Sylvan Hamburger – Passage de la frontière
  • Corryn Bamber – Aller-retour
  • Nelligan Letourneau – Duo de Jaseurs d’Amérique, Couple de Parulines jaunes, Hirondelles rustiques grandes copines
  • Melissa Brunet – Deux chez-soi
  • Adrian Kiva – Sans titre
  • Emma Hoch – En péril
  • Sara Camus – Pic chevelu
  • Evan Furness – Les marais lancent un dernier appel
  • Kevin Melanson – Sans titre

Apprenez-en plus à propos des oiseaux migrateurs évoqués dans les œuvres sur Environnement et Changement climatique Canada.

Œuvres toujours exposées

Jusqu’en mai 2018, voyez par vous-mêmes les œuvres de ces artistes canadiens qui ont été originalement présentées en 2014 et 2015 dans le cadre de Passages insolites, un événement qui a été financé par la Ville de Québec et élaboré par EXMURO arts publics.

Solitaire par Diane Landry (en collaboration Francis Labissonnière) dans la cour Jeanne-d’Arc, rue York, à Ottawa.
Quiproquo monumental par Francis Montillaud au coin de la rue Laurier et du pont du Portage à Gatineau.
L’Odyssée par Cooke-Sasseville au parc Montcalm-Taché à Gatineau.

Point de basculement par José Luis Torres dans la cour Clarendon à Ottawa.

Nous vous invitons aussi à prendre une pause pour un instant d’art public et à admirer des sculptures des artistes canadiens Marc-Antoine Côté et Randall Anderson. Jusqu’en octobre 2017, leurs œuvres sont exposées sur les places publiques situées au sud du pont Alexandra à Ottawa (en face du Musée des beaux-arts du Canada).

Il/elle n’a pas de nom de Marc-Antoine Côté installée sur la plaza du pont Alexandra (photo Studio Versa)
Zoom! V2 de Randall Anderson installée sur la plaza du pont Alexandra (photo Studio Versa)

Art dans la capitale est un des nombreux programmes du ministère du Patrimoine canadien qui exposent des projets saisonniers d’art public dans la région de la capitale nationale, ce qui permet aux résidents et aux visiteurs de sortir dehors et voir gratuitement de grandes œuvres canadiennes.

Art dans les cours

Les cours Sussex sont une série de cinq cours intérieures situées derrière la promenade Sussex, près du marché By, à Ottawa. Elles sont très prisées pendant la saison chaude et elles représentent une oasis de paix et d’ombre pour les visiteurs et les résidants, en plus d’offrir des endroits où s’asseoir, des cafés avec terrasse et des boutiques.

Le programme Art dans les cours met en valeur l’art et les artistes canadiens en présentant des expositions sur une variété de thèmes dans des emplacements extérieurs inusités.

En 2016, nous célébrons le 100e anniversaire des premières Canadiennes à obtenir le droit de vote. Pour souligner cet événement, Art dans les cours rend hommage au travail de 16 femmes artistes de partout au pays. Les œuvres ont été choisies parmi la collection de la Banque d’art du Conseil des arts du Canada, la plus grande collection d’art canadien contemporain au monde. La Banque d’art possède les œuvres de plus de 1200 artistes canadiennes.

Quelques reproductions d’œuvres de l’exposition Art dans les cours
  • Visionnaires et audacieuses – Femmes artistes canadiennes
  • Kenojuak Ashevak – Autumn Spirits
  • Joyce Wieland – Laura Secord Saves Upper Canada
  • Molly Lamb Bobak – Rink Theme – Skaters
  • Eleanor Bond – IV Converting the Powell River Mill to a Recreation and Retirement Centre
  • Ghitta Caiserman – Untitled B (Homage to the Wallendas)
  • Marcelle Ferron – La rive et l’écorce
  • Betty Goodwin – Folded Shirt
  • Isabelle Hayeur – Décharge
  • Wanda Koop – Red Dot
  • Rita Letendre – Blues II
  • Landon Mackenzie – Winter 1984 (Animal in a Circle)
  • Sanaz Mazinani – Woman Reading on Bus, Tehran, Iran
  • Meryl McMaster – Jin
  • Daphne Odjig – Thunderbird Woman
  • Mary Pratt – Pears on a Green Glass Plate
  • Françoise Sullivan – Série Les Cormorans no 7

Exposition sur la terrasse du Château Laurier

L’exposition sur la terrasse du Château Laurier, surplombant les écluses du canal Rideau

La terrasse inférieure de l’hôtel historique qu’est le Fairmont Château Laurier est l’endroit idéal où tenir une exposition extérieure. Surplombant les écluses du canal Rideau et offrant une vue imprenable sur le Parlement, la rivière des Outaouais, le Musée canadien de l’histoire et les collines de la Gatineau, l’exposition d’images ajoute au charme de cet emplacement offrant un panorama pittoresque et grandiose.

Bannières sur le boulevard de la Confédération

Bannières du boulevard de la Confédération

Tous les ans, Patrimoine canadien installe plus de 500 bannières le long du boulevard de la Confédération, l’artère de cérémonie de la capitale, située au centre ville Ottawa–Gatineau. Les bannières mettent en valeur les provinces et les territoires du Canada et leurs anniversaires spéciaux.

  • Bannières provinciales et territoriales
    • Les bannières provinciales et territoriales colorées sont une fenêtre sur le Canada. Chaque année, nous mettons l’accent sur un thème différent pour présenter l’unicité de chaque région du pays.

  • Bannières commémoratives
    • Nous avons aussi une série de bannières commémoratives qui soulignent des étapes-clés de l’histoire canadienne, des hauts faits de la culture canadienne et des événements spéciaux. Les thèmes varient d’une année à l’autre.

Programme Décod’ART

Scannez, écoutez et découvrez l’art tout autrement avec Décod’ART

Le programme Décod’ART utilise la technologie moderne pour contribuer à l’interprétation des monuments et de l’art public dans la région de la capitale nationale. Les visiteurs peuvent accéder à des capsules audiovisuelles en balayant un code QR avec leur appareil mobile. Les codes sont situés sur des panneaux Décod’ART installés près des œuvres sélectionnées.

Le programme offre actuellement des capsules d’interprétation destinées aux adultes et aux enfants à proximité de 14 monuments et œuvres d’art du domaine public à Ottawa–Gatineau.

Exposition de photographie du pont Plaza

L’exposition de photographie du pont Plaza, situé directement en face du Monument commémoratif de guerre du Canada

Le pont Plaza, situé directement en face du Monument commémoratif de guerre du Canada, est la scène d’une exposition d’images extérieure tenue de mai à octobre.

L’exposition adopte un format de grandes dimensions et visuellement dynamique qui offre aux visiteurs de passage dans la capitale du Canada de l’information accessible et intéressante sur des anniversaires, des réalisations ou des événements historiques propres au Canada.

Les expositions saisonnières reflètent et célèbrent notre pays et ses habitants au moyen de l’art. Obtenez des renseignements supplémentaires sur les autres formes d’art commémoratif et public dans la région de la capitale nationale du Canada.

Date de modification :