Care of objects and collections

This section will be able to provide information on the conservation of cultural objects and collections. You can learn more about the many issues and questions related to the care, handling and storage of cultural objects such as metal objects, wooden objects, or textiles through documents on basic care, conservation notes and technical bulletins.

Basic care

Two types of documents can be found under this heading: documents aimed at the general public who wants to care for personal objects that include general information on how to care, clean, repair and/or store objects; and documents about the care of objects and collections for heritage workers.

Basic care covers object categories that are broad such as ceramics and glass, or specific such as tools, wind instruments and wooden masks.

Canadian Conservation Institute (CCI) notes

The conservation notes are detailed and provide information on a variety of topics for those who care for cultural objects. The notes offer practical advice about issues and questions related to the care, handling, and storage of cultural objects. Many notes are illustrated, and provide bibliographies as well as suggestions for contacting suppliers.

Technical bulletins

The technical bulletins are to assist heritage professionals and institutions in the care and preservation of their objects and collections. The technical bulletins contain useful and relevant information for conservation practices and research or reference.

See the conservation and preservation publications for a full list of Technical Bulletins.

Date modified:

Soin des objets et collections

Cette section fournit des renseignements sur la conservation des objets culturels et des collections. Vous pouvez en apprendre davantage sur le soin, la manipulation et le rangement des objets culturels, par exemple les objets en métal, les objets en bois ou les textiles, grâce à des documents sur les soins de base et la conservation et des bulletins techniques.

Soins de base

Cette rubrique comprend deux types de documents. On y présente d'abord les documents qui s'adressent au grand public et à ceux qui désirent prendre soin de leurs objets personnels; ces documents incluent des renseignements généraux sur le soin, le nettoyage, la réparation et le rangement des objets. On trouve ensuite les documents à l'intention des professionnels du patrimoine qui traitent des objets et des collections.

Les soins de base couvrent les catégories d'objets d'ordre général, tels les objets en céramique et en verre, ou d'autres objets plus précis, comme les outils, les instruments à vent et les masques en bois.

Notes de l’Institut canadien de conservation

Les notes sur la conservation sont détaillées et traitent d'une variété de sujets qui intéressent les personnes qui s'occupent des objets culturels. Elles offrent des conseils pratiques sur le soin, la manipulation et le rangement des objets culturels. Plusieurs notes sont illustrées et contiennent des références bibliographiques ainsi que des suggestions pour communiquer avec des fournisseurs.

Bulletins techniques

Les bulletins techniques aident les professionnels et les établissements du patrimoine à prendre soin de leurs objets et de leurs collections et à les préserver. Ils contiennent de l’information utile et pertinente sur les pratiques de conservation, pour la recherche ou à titre de référence.

Consultez les publications sur la conservation et la préservation pour obtenir la liste complète des bulletins techniques.

Date de modification :