The Crown

Canada is a constitutional monarchy. The Crown in Canada was first established by the kings of France in the sixteenth century. Organized as a royal province of France, both French and British kings and queens have reigned over Canada since 1534. Under Canada's sovereigns, the country has evolved from a French colony to an independent nation.

Canada’s Head of State

In today's constitutional monarchy, Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II is Queen of Canada and Canada's Head of State. She is the personal embodiment of the Crown in Canada.

In Canada’s system of government, the power to govern is vested in the Crown but is entrusted to the government to exercise on behalf and in the interest of the people. The Crown reminds the government of the day that the source of the power to govern rests elsewhere and that it is only given to them for a limited duration.

The Governor General and Lieutenant Governors

The Governor General and the ten Lieutenant Governors represent the Crown in Canada and act on The Queen's behalf.

The Governor General’s role and responsibilities consist mainly in carrying out many of the duties on behalf of The Queen. For example, he or she presides over the swearing-in of the Prime Minister, the Chief Justice of Canada and cabinet ministers. However, there are powers that can only be exercised by the Queen. The Lieutenant Governors of the provinces perform similar duties at the provincial level.

The Parliament of Canada

The Parliament of Canada consists of The Queen, the Senate and the House of Commons. In the provinces, legislatures consist of the Lieutenant Governor and the elected assembly.

Her Majesty's representatives act on the advice of the Prime Minister or ministers responsible to the House of Commons or the provincial legislative assemblies.

Date modified:

La Couronne

Le Canada est une monarchie constitutionnelle. La Couronne au Canada a d'abord été instaurée par les rois de France au XVIe siècle, à titre de province du royaume de France. Des rois et des reines de France et d’Angleterre ont régné sur le Canada depuis 1534. Sous le règne des souverains du Canada, le pays est passé du statut de colonie française à celui de pays indépendant.

Le chef de l’État canadien

Dans la monarchie constitutionnelle d'aujourd'hui, Sa Majesté la Reine Elizabeth II est la Reine du Canada et le chef de l’État canadien. Elle est l'incarnation de la Couronne au Canada.

Dans le système de gouvernement, la Couronne détient le pouvoir de gouverner, mais le confie au gouvernement qui l'assume au nom et pour le bien de la population. La Couronne rappelle au gouvernement en place que la source du pouvoir demeure ailleurs et qu'il n'en a la responsabilité que pour une durée limitée.

Le gouverneur général et les lieutenants-gouverneurs

Le gouverneur général et les dix lieutenants-gouverneurs représentent la Couronne au Canada et agissent au nom de la Reine.

Le rôle et les responsabilités du gouverneur général se résument à assumer plusieurs fonctions au nom de la Reine. Il doit, entre autres, présider l’assermentation du premier ministre, du juge en chef du Canada et des ministres du Cabinet. Certains pouvoirs ne peuvent toutefois être exercés que par la Reine. Les lieutenants-gouverneurs des provinces remplissent des fonctions semblables à l’échelle provinciale.

Le Parlement du Canada

Le Parlement du Canada est composé de la Reine, du Sénat et de la Chambre des communes. Dans les provinces, les législatures sont composées du lieutenant-gouverneur et de l’assemblée élue.

Les représentants de la Reine agissent sur l’avis du premier ministre ou des ministres responsables de la Chambre des communes ou des assemblées législatives provinciales.

Date de modification :