Royal Symbols and Titles

Royal symbols are visual and audio signs that represent the Crown in various ways, while the title “royal” is given to Canadian organizations that meet certain criteria.

Browse through the symbols that represent Canada’s historical association with the British monarchy.

Royal Anthem

The Royal Anthem originated as a patriotic song in London, England, in 1745. Neither the author nor the composer is known. The anthem is performed officially in Canada in the presence of members of the Royal Family, and as part of the salute accorded to the Governor General and Lieutenant Governors.

Canadian Flags of the Royal Family

In September 1961, Queen Elizabeth II approved a personal flag for use in Canada. The announcement of the new flag was made in 1962. The design is made up of the Canada Coat of Arms with the Queen’s own device – the initial “E” – in the centre. The device is surmounted by the St. Edward’s Crown within a gold chaplet of roses on a blue background.

Royal Crown and Cypher

When Queen Elizabeth II ascended the throne on February 6, 1952, she adopted a heraldic representation of the Crown closely resembling the St. Edward’s Crown, which was used for her coronation on June 2, 1953.Since that time, the use of the Royal Crown in any design must receive the personal permission of Her Majesty, by her express direction.

The royal cypher is the Queen’s monogram, Elizabeth II Regina (Regina is Latin for “Queen”) below a crown. It is used in the insignia of orders, decorations and medals, and on various badges.

Royal Patronage and Title "Royal"

Members of the Royal Family provide their moral support or even their patronage to organizations devoted to artistic, scientific, and charitable causes that provide services on a regional level, at least.

Date modified:

Symboles et titres royaux

Les symboles royaux sont des signes visuels et sonores qui représentent la Couronne de différentes façons alors que le titre « royal » est accordé aux organismes canadiens qui répondent à certains critères.

Parcourez les symboles qui représentent le lien historique du Canada avec la monarchie britannique.

Hymne royal

Ce chant patriotique, d'auteur et de compositeur inconnus, est joué pour la première fois à Londres en 1745. Cet hymne est joué officiellement au Canada en présence des membres de la Famille royale et à l'occasion du salut accordé au gouverneur général et aux lieutenants gouverneurs.

Drapeaux canadiens de la famille royale

En septembre 1961, la reine Élisabeth II approuve un drapeau personnel qui lui sert à signaler sa présence au Canada. L'annonce du nouveau drapeau est faite en 1962. Le drapeau représente les armoiries du Canada avec, au centre, le symbole de la reine, l'initiale « E ». Ce symbole, surmonté de la couronne de Saint Édouard, est entouré d'une guirlande de roses dorée sur fond bleu.

Couronne et monogramme royaux

Lors de son accession au trône, le 6 février 1952, la reine Elizabeth II adopte une représentation héraldique de la couronne rappelant de près celle de saint Édouard avec laquelle elle fut couronnée le 2 juin 1953.Depuis lors, il faut obtenir l'autorisation personnelle de Sa Majesté, par directive expresse, pour utiliser la couronne royale dans tout dessin.

Il s'agit du monogramme de la reine Elizabeth II Regina (« reine » en latin) surmonté d'une couronne. On l'applique aux emblèmes des ordres, décorations et médailles, ainsi que sur différents insignes.

Patronage royal et titre « royal »

Les membres de la Famille royale donnent leur appui moral, ou encore accordent leur « patronage », à des organismes voués à des causes artistiques, scientifiques ou charitables, qui fournissent des services au moins à l’échelle régionale.

Date de modification :