Royal Portraits and Use of Images

If you wish to use or reproduce royal portraits and images, please read this section carefully, as legal limitations apply.

Portraits to Order or Download

Royal arms and insignia

The Royal Arms, the Crown and the Royal Cypher are personal to members of the Royal Family and cannot be used without their consent.

Requests for use of such emblems should be addressed to the Advisor, Protocol and Special Programs, Policy, Program and Protocol Branch, Government House (1 Sussex Drive, Ottawa, K1A 0A1), accompanied by a sketch or drawing showing the intended uses.

Advice will be sought from the Manager, State Ceremonial and Protocol Directorate, Department of Canadian Heritage, before the request is sent to the Lord Chamberlain's Office at Buckingham Palace for final approval.

Commercial use

The following rules govern the use of the Royal Arms, crest, standards, photographs, portraits, engravings, effigies and busts of The Queen and members of the Royal Family for commercial purposes.

The Lord Chamberlain’s Office has developed the following policy on the use of Royal Images: “…Generally, except when advertising a book, newspaper article or magazine article about a Member of the Royal Family, Royal Images may not be used for advertising purposes in any medium. A firm’s advertisement may not include photographs of Members of the Royal Family visiting their works or exhibition stands or being publicly involved with their goods or services”. For example, if Their Royal Highnesses The Duke and Duchess of Cambridge were to visit a cheese shop, that shop could not use a photograph of the occasion to advertise its goods.

These rules are made to avoid unfair exploitation of the Royal Family by commercial organizations for their own advantage.

Prohibitions

Royal Images should not be used on adhesive seals, articles of dress, household linen, packaging, boxes or labels.

Stationery

Royal images may be used for the following provided they are free from advertisement:

Advertising

Except when advertising a book, newspaper, magazine article or television documentary about a Member of the Royal Family, royal images may not be used for advertising purposes in any medium.

A firm's advertisement may not include photographs of Members of the Royal Family visiting their works or exhibition stands, or of being publicly involved with their products. Publication of film or photographs of such visits may, however, be used for House Journals or for specifically in-house purposes.

Requests relating to the use of royal images in advertising should be addressed as follows:

Manager
State Ceremonial and Protocol Directorate
Department of Canadian Heritage
Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0M5

Telephone: 819-994-1616
Toll-free: 1-866-811-0055
Fax: 819-997-8550

Note: A sketch of the intended use must be sent for approval.

Copyright

Any question of copyright involved in the reproduction of a royal image must be settled by the prospective user direct with the copyright holder. Nothing in these rules gives any right to the use of a particular image.

Date modified:

Portraits royaux et utilisation d'images

Si vous voulez utiliser ou reproduire des portraits et des images de la Famille royale, veuillez lire cette section attentivement, car des restrictions légales s'appliquent.

Portraits à commander ou à télécharger

Insigne et armoiries royaux

Les armoiries royales, la Couronne et le sigle royal sont la propriété des membres de la Famille royale et ne peuvent être utilisés sans leur consentement.

Les demandes d'utilisation de ces symboles doivent être faites auprès du Conseiller, Protocole et programmes spéciaux, Direction générale des politiques, du programme et du protocole, Rideau Hall, 1, promenade Sussex, Ottawa (Ontario), K1A 0A1, et doivent inclure une ébauche ou un dessin qui illustre comment le symbole serait utilisé.

Un avis sera demandé au gestionnaire du Cérémonial d'État et protocole du ministère du Patrimoine canadien, avant que la demande soit acheminée au Bureau du Lord Chamberlain au palais de Buckingham pour l'approbation finale.

Usage commercial

Les règles suivantes régissent l’utilisation des armoiries royales, de l’emblème, des étendards, des photographies, des portraits, des gravures, des effigies et des bustes de la Reine et des membres de la Famille royale à des fins commerciales.

Le Bureau du lord chambellan a développé la politique suivante sur l’utilisation des images de la Famille royale : « Règle générale, à l’exception de la publicité faite pour un livre, un article de journal ou de revue concernant un membre de la Famille royale, la représentation de la Famille royale ne doit pas être utilisée pour quelque entreprise publicitaire que ce soit. La publicité faite par une compagnie ne doit pas inclure les photographies de membres de la Famille royale en train de visiter ses installations ou expositions ou de s’intéresser publiquement à ses produits ou services ». Par exemple, si Leurs Altesses Royales le duc et la duchesse de Cambridge devaient visiter une fromagerie, cette dernière ne pourrait utiliser une photographie de cette occasion pour annoncer ses produits.

Les règles ont été développées pour éviter l’exploitation injuste de la Famille royale par des organismes commerciaux.

Interdits

Les représentations d'images des membres de la Famille royale ne peuvent être utilisées sur les articles suivants autocollants, les vêtements, la lingerie, les emballages, les boîtes ou les étiquettes.

Papeterie

Les représentations de membres de la Famille royale peuvent être utilisées sur les articles suivants, si elles ne font pas l'objet de publicités :

Publicité

À l'exception de la publicité faite pour un livre, un article de journal ou de revue ou un documentaire télévisé concernant un membre de la Famille royale, la représentation d'un membre de la Famille royale ne doit pas être utilisée pour quelque entreprise publicitaire que ce soit.

La publicité faite par une compagnie ne doit pas inclure de photographies de membres de la Famille royale en train de visiter ses installations ou expositions ou de s'intéresser publiquement à ses produits. Cependant, les films, vidéos ou photographies de telles visites peuvent être utilisés au sein de la compagnie à des fins internes.

Les demandes concernant la représentation de membres de la Famille royale pour des fins publicitaires doivent être faites auprès du :

Gestionnaire
Direction du Cérémonial d'État et protocole
Ministère du Patrimoine canadien
Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0M5

Téléphone : 819-994-1616
Sans frais : 1-866-811-0055
Télécopieur : 819-997-8550

Nota : Un dessin de l'utilisation envisagée doit être envoyé pour approbation.

Droit d'auteur

Toute question de droit d'auteur dans la représentation de membres de la Famille royale doit être directement réglée par l'utilisateur avec la personne qui possède le droit d'auteur. Rien, dans ces directives, ne donne le droit de représenter un membre de la Famille royale en particulier.

Date de modification :