Indigenous Peoples and human rights in Canada

“Indigenous peoples” is a collective name for the original peoples of North America and their descendants. The Canadian Constitution recognizes three distinct groups of Indigenous (Aboriginal) peoples: Indians (referred to as First Nations), Métis and Inuit. Increasingly, and in keeping with international agreements, “Indigenous Peoples” is being used instead of “Aboriginal peoples.”

For many decades, First Nations people were not provided with full access to human rights protection – due in part to section 67 of the Canadian Human Rights Act. The legislation was finally repealed in 2008; this means that First Nations individuals can now make complaints of discrimination to the Canadian Human Rights Commission.

On this page:

About Indigenous Peoples and human rights in Canada

In Canada, anti-discrimination legislation exists to protect and advocate for the human rights of Aboriginal peoples. The Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms and the Canadian Human Rights Act – including the repeal of section 67 – are dedicated to maintaining every individual’s rights under the law.

The repeal of section 67 of the Canadian Human Rights Act

History of the Act

For decades, the Canadian Human Rights Act (CHRA) did not provide First Nations individuals with full access to Canada’s human rights protection. This was due to section 67 of the CHRA, which stated:

“Nothing in this Act affects any provision of the Indian Act or any provision made under or pursuant to that Act.”

This exemption had the effect of shielding any provisions of the Indian Act from the application of the CHRA; it also applied to any decisions made or actions taken by First Nation Band Councils and the federal government, under or pursuant to the Indian Act.

As a result, First Nations persons living or working on-reserve were unable to file complaints with the Canadian Human Rights Commission alleging discrimination on a prohibited ground arising from actions taken or decisions made under or pursuant to the Indian Act.

A change to the Act

In 2008, section 67 of the Canadian Human Rights Act (CHRA) was finally repealed with the passing of an amendment.

The revised legislation means that First Nations individuals who are registered Indians and members of Bands, or individuals residing or working on reserves, can now make complaints of discrimination to the Canadian Human Rights Commission (CHRC) relating to decisions or actions arising from, or pursuant to the Indian Act.

As part of its legislative requirements under the amended CHRA, Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada (now Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada) worked in cooperation with participating First Nations organizations to develop the Report to Parliament on the Five-Year Review of the Repeal of Section 67 of the Canadian Human Rights Act.

Tabled in Parliament in 2014, this report provides the CHRC, the Government of Canada, First Nations and other stakeholders with the information needed to better identify potential issues.

To find out more about the repeal of section 67 of the CHRA, consult the following publications from the CHRC:

Human rights complaints

A Canadian citizen, permanent resident or a person who is legally present in Canada can file a complaint with the Canadian Human Rights Commission. Since the repeal of section 67 of the Canadian Human Rights Act (CHRA), any person can file a complaint of discrimination arising from actions taken or decisions made pursuant to the Indian Act, if the alleged discrimination is:

  • against a federally regulated organization, or if the action complained of is authorized by a federal statute;
  • filed within one year of the alleged events;
  • based on one or more of the 11 prohibited grounds;
  • a situation considered a discriminatory practice under the CHRA.

See the human rights complaints section to find information on the complaint process.

International Indigenous affairs

Canada is a founding member of the United Nations and endorses the United Nations Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples, which was adopted by the General Assembly in 2007.

Find more about the Government of Canada’s position on the United Nations Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples.

Read more about current Government of Canada initiatives focusing on international indigenous issues.

Read more about Canada’s international human rights treaty obligations (covenants, conventions) and their application to Indigenous issues.

Note:

To access the PDF (Portable Document Format) version you must have a PDF reader installed. If you do not already have such a reader, there are numerous PDF readers available for free download or for purchase on the Internet:

To take advantage of PDF features:

It is not recommended to open a PDF form within your browser. Some browsers use plugins by default to view the PDF which may not work properly with fillable PDF forms.

Please note that all saveable and fillable PDF forms posted on this Web site are created using Adobe® authoring tools. It is therefore recommended that you use the Adobe Reader®, version 9 or higher, for best results.

Date modified:

Peuples autochtones et droits de la personne au Canada

L'expression « peuples autochtones » désigne les premiers peuples d'Amérique du Nord et leurs descendants. La Constitution canadienne reconnaît trois groupes distincts de peuples autochtones : les Indiens (appelés « Premières Nations »), les Métis et les Inuits.

Pendant de nombreuses décennies, les peuples des Premières Nations n'étaient pas complètement protégés par les droits de la personne – en partie en raison de l'article 67 de la Loi canadienne sur les droits de la personne. La Loi a enfin été abolie en 2008, ce qui signifie que les membres des Premières Nations peuvent maintenant déposer une plainte de discrimination à la Commission canadienne des droits de la personne.

Sur cette page :

À propos des peuples autochtones et des droits de la personne au Canada

Au Canada, des lois contre la discrimination existent pour protéger et défendre les intérêts des peuples autochtones. La Charte canadienne des droits et libertés et la Loi canadienne sur les droits de la personne – y compris l'abrogation de l'article 67 – protègent les droits de chaque personne en vertu de la loi.

Abrogation de l'article 67 de la Loi canadienne sur les droits de la personne

Historique de la Loi

Pendant plusieurs décennies, la Loi canadienne sur les droits de la personne n'offrait pas une pleine protection aux membres de Premières Nations en vertu des droits de la personne au Canada. Cela était attribuable à l'article 67 de la Loi canadienne sur les droits de la personne selon lequel :

« La présente loi est sans effet sur la Loi sur les Indiens et sur les dispositions prises en vertu de cette loi. »

L'exemption prévue à l'article 67 avait pour effet de soustraire de l'application de la Loi canadienne sur les droits de la personne les dispositions de la Loi sur les Indiens ainsi que toute décision ou mesure prise par un conseil de bande ou le gouvernement fédéral en vertu de cette loi.

Par conséquent, les membres de Premières Nations qui vivent ou travaillent dans une réserve ne pouvaient déposer de plaintes auprès de la Commission canadienne des droits de la personne pour un motif présumé de discrimination attribuable à une mesure ou à une décision prise en vertu de la Loi sur les Indiens.

Changement à la Loi

En 2008, l'article 67 de la Loi canadienne sur les droits de la personne fut enfin abrogé avec l'adoption d'un amendement.

Cette modification de la Loi signifie que les membres des Premières Nations qui sont des Indiens inscrits et membres d'une bande, ou les personnes qui vivent ou travaillent dans les réserves, peuvent maintenant déposer devant la Commission canadienne des droits de la personne des plaintes de discrimination liées à des mesures découlant de la Loi sur les Indiens ou en application de celle-ci.

Dans le cadre de ses obligations découlant de la Loi canadienne sur les droits de la personne modifiée, Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada (maintenant Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada), en collaboration avec des organisations des Premières Nations participantes, a produit le Rapport au Parlement sur l'examen quinquennal de l'abrogation de l'article 67 de la Loi canadienne sur les droits de la personne.

Présenté au Parlement en 2014, ce rapport offre à la Commission canadienne des droits de la personne, au gouvernement du Canada, aux Premières Nations et aux autres intervenants l'information requise pour mieux cerner les enjeux potentiels.

Pour en savoir plus sur l'abrogation de l'article 67 de la Loi canadienne sur les droits de la personne, consultez les publications suivantes de la Commission canadienne des droits de la personne :

Plaintes relatives aux droits de la personne

Un citoyen canadien, un résident permanent ou une personne qui se trouve légalement au Canada peut soumettre une plainte à la Commission canadienne des droits de la personne. À la suite de l'abrogation de l'article 67 de la Loi canadienne sur les droits de la personne, toute personne peut déposer une plainte pour de la discrimination attribuable à une mesure ou à une décision prise en vertu de la Loi sur les Indiens, si :

  • elle concerne un organisme assujetti à la réglementation fédérale ou une mesure autorisée par une loi fédérale;
  • elle est déposée dans l'année qui suit les événements allégués;
  • la discrimination est fondée sur au moins un des onze motifs de discrimination établis;
  • la situation est considérée comme un acte discriminatoire en vertu de la Loi canadienne sur les droits de la personne.

Obtenez plus de renseignements sur le processus de plainte en consultant la section sur les plaintes relatives aux droits de la personne.

Affaires autochtones internationales

Le Canada est un membre fondateur de l'ONU, et il appuie la Déclaration des Nations Unies sur les droits des peuples autochtones, adoptée par l'Assemblée générale en 2007.

Renseignez-vous sur la position du gouvernement du Canada à propos de la Déclaration des Nations Unies sur les droits des peuples autochtones.

Apprenez-en davantage à propos des initiatives actuelles du gouvernement du Canada sur les affaires autochtones internationales.

Consultez d'autres renseignements sur les obligations du Canada aux termes des traités internationaux (pactes, conventions) relatifs aux droits de la personne et leur application aux questions autochtones.

Note :

Pour consulter la version en format PDF (format de document portable), vous devez avoir un lecteur PDF installé sur votre ordinateur. Si vous n'en avez pas déjà un, plusieurs lecteurs peuvent être téléchargés gratuitement ou achetés sur Internet :

Pour profiter des avantages qu'offre le format PDF :

Il n’est pas recommandé d’ouvrir un formulaire PDF directement à partir de votre navigateur; certains utilisent des modules d’extension (plugins) par défaut pour lire les PDF, ce qui pourrait causer des ennuis au moment d’entrer les données dans le formulaire PDF.

Veuillez noter que tous les formulaires PDF qu'il est possible de remplir et de sauvegarder sur ce site Web ont été créés à l'aide de "Adobe® authoring tools". Il est par conséquent recommandé d'utiliser la version 9 ou une version plus récente d'Adobe Reader® pour de meilleurs résultats.

Date de modification :