Universal Periodic Review

The Universal Periodic Review (UPR) is a State-driven peer-review process before the United Nations (UN) Human Rights Council. Under the UPR, the human rights record of each country is reviewed by other UN Member States. This provides an opportunity for States to discuss their domestic human rights framework as well as measures taken to promote and protect human rights in their country.

To learn more about the UPR, see The Universal Periodic Review Process.

Canada and the Universal Periodic Review

Canada’s third Universal Periodic Review

Canada’s third UPR will take place in April/May 2018 during the 30th session of the UPR Working Group (the exact date is not yet known). During each UPR, Canada prepares a national report. The report is prepared in collaboration with federal, provincial and territorial government officials. The deadline for the submission of Canada’s national report is February 9, 2018.

Human rights institutions and civil society organizations also have an important role to play in the UPR process and can submit their own reports to the UN on Canada’s human rights record. The deadline for the written submissions of human rights institutions and non-governmental organizations and Indigenous groups in relation to Canada’s third UPR is September 21, 2017.

Canada’s third UPR report

Since Canada, including all 14 federal, provincial and territorial governments, must limit the length of its report to 10,700 words (or approximately 20 pages), as required by the UN, it will not be possible to address all potential issues in the third UPR report. It will therefore be necessary to prioritize which issues will be addressed in the report.

The Government of Canada is currently seeking the views of civil society and Indigenous groups to:

  • Identify any key issues that have not been included in the outline;
  • Prioritize the issues for inclusion in the report; and
  • Identify the key successes and challenges related to those priority issues.

To request a copy of the draft outline of Canada’s Third Report under the UPR, please email PCH.epudroitsdelapersonne-uprhumanrights.PCH@canada.ca.

Canada's second Universal Periodic Review

Canada's second UPR took place on April 26, 2013.

A major focus of Canada's second national report was on measures that relate to the recommendations and voluntary commitments it accepted during its first UPR in 2009.

Forty-eight reports were submitted to the UN by domestic stakeholders for Canada’s second UPR, including by the Canadian Human Rights Commission, non-governmental organizations and Indigenous groups.

Following Canada’s appearance, the UPR Working Group issued its report, which included the 162 recommendations Canada received from other States. The recommendations focused primarily on issues related to the ratification and implementation of international human rights treaties; Indigenous peoples; violence against women and girls; national security and public safety; poverty, homelessness and food security; racial and religious discrimination; and the situation of vulnerable groups, including women, children, persons with disabilities, older persons, and immigrants and refugees.

Canada’s Response to the Recommendations was submitted to the UN on September 16, 2013. Canada's response was prepared in close collaboration with federal departments and provincial and territorial governments. The response was informed by views expressed by civil society and Indigenous groups throughout the UPR process. Canada accepted, in full, in part, or in principle, 121 of the recommendations received.

Documents related to Canada’s second UPR, including Canada’s national report and response and a compilation of information from stakeholders, can be found on the Universal Periodic Review Second Cycle website.

Canada's first Universal Periodic Review

Canada’s first UPR took place on February 3, 2009.

The national report for Canada’s first UPR was submitted to the UN in January 2009. The report provided an overview of the framework for the promotion and protection of human rights in Canada as well as related policies and programs, including socio-economic issues, Indigenous issues, women’s rights, immigration, and anti-discrimination initiatives.

Fifty reports were submitted to the UN by the Canadian Human Rights Commission, non-governmental organizations and Indigenous groups in relation to Canada’s first UPR.

Canada received 68 recommendations from other States that covered a number of topics, including reducing inequality for disadvantaged groups, Indigenous issues, poverty and homelessness; violence against women; and racism and discrimination.

Canada’s Response to the Recommendations, submitted in June 2009, was prepared in close collaboration with federal departments and provincial and territorial governments in accordance with UN guidelines. Canada accepted, in part or in full, 54 of the recommendations. It also made nine additional voluntary commitments that complemented the accepted recommendations.

Documents related to Canada’s first UPR, including Canada’s national report and response and a compilation of information from stakeholders, can be found on the Universal Periodic Review website.

Date modified:

Examen périodique universel

L’examen périodique universel (EPU) est un processus d’examen par les pairs, dirigé par l’État, devant le Conseil des droits de l’homme des Nations Unies (l’ONU). Dans le cadre de l’EPU, les autres États membres de l’ONU examinent le bilan des droits de la personne de chaque pays. Cela offre aux États l’occasion de discuter de leur cadre national en matière de droits de la personne ainsi que des mesures prises pour promouvoir et protéger les droits de la personne dans leur pays.

Pour en savoir plus sur l’EPU, consultez le Processus d'examen périodique universel.

Canada et l'Examen périodique universel

Troisième examen périodique universel du Canada

Le troisième EPU du Canada aura lieu en avril / mai 2018 au cours de la 30e session du Groupe de travail de l'EPU (la date exacte n'est pas encore connue). Au cours de chaque EPU, le Canada prépare un rapport national. Le rapport est préparé en collaboration avec des représentants des gouvernements fédéral, provinciaux et territoriaux. La date limite pour la soumission du rapport national du Canada est le 9 février 2018.

Les institutions des droits de la personne et les organismes de la société civile ont également un rôle important à jouer dans le processus de l'EPU et peuvent soumettre leurs propres rapports à l'ONU sur le bilan des droits de la personne au Canada. Le délai pour les observations écrites des institutions de défense des droits de la personne et des organismes non gouvernementales et des groupes autochtones dans le cadre du troisième EPU du Canada est le 21 septembre 2017.

Le troisième rapport de l’EPU du Canada

Puisque le Canada, y compris les 14 gouvernements fédéral, provinciaux et territoriaux, doit limiter la longueur de son rapport à 10 700 mots (ou environ 20 pages), comme l'exige l'ONU, il ne sera pas possible d’aborder tous les enjeux potentiels dans le troisième rapport de l’EPU. Il faudra donc prioriser les enjeux qui seront traités dans le rapport.

Le gouvernement du Canada souhaite recueillir présentement les points de vue de la société civile et des groupes autochtones pour :

  • identifier les enjeux clés qui n'ont pas été inclus dans l’aperçu;
  • prioriser les enjeux à inclure dans le rapport; et
  • identifier les principaux succès et défis liés à ces enjeux prioritaires.

Pour obtenir une copie de l’ébauche de l’aperçu du Troisième rapport du Canada en vertu de l'EPU, veuillez envoyer un courriel à PCH.epudroitsdelapersonne-prendroit.PCH@canada.ca.

Deuxième examen périodique universel du Canada

Le deuxième EPU a eu lieu le 26 avril 2013.

Le deuxième rapport national du Canada portait en grande partie sur les mesures ayant trait aux recommandations et aux engagements volontaires qu'il a accepté de prendre lors du premier EPU en 2009.

Quarante-huit rapports ont été soumis à l'ONU par les parties prenantes nationales pour le deuxième EPU du Canada, y compris par la Commission canadienne des droits de l'homme, les organismes non gouvernementales et les groupes autochtones.

À la suite de la comparution du Canada, le Groupe de travail de l'EPU a publié son rapport, qui comprenait les 162 recommandations que le Canada a reçues d'autres États. Les recommandations portaient principalement sur les questions liées à la ratification et à la mise en œuvre des traités internationaux relatifs aux droits de la personne; les peuples autochtones; la violence contre les femmes et les filles; la sécurité nationale et la sécurité publique; la pauvreté, l'itinérance et la sécurité alimentaire; le discrimination raciale et religieuse; et la situation des groupes vulnérables, y compris les femmes, les enfants, les personnes handicapées, les personnes âgées, les immigrants et les réfugiés.

La réponse du Canada aux recommandations a été soumise à l'ONU le 16 septembre 2013. La réponse du Canada a été préparée en collaboration avec les ministères fédéraux et les gouvernements provinciaux et territoriaux. La réponse a été motivée par les vues exprimées par la société civile et les groupes autochtones tout au long du processus de l'EPU. Le Canada a accepté, en tout, en partie, ou en principe, 121 des recommandations reçues.

Les documents relatifs au deuxième EPU du Canada, y compris le rapport national et la réponse du Canada et une compilation des renseignements obtenus des parties prenantes, se trouvent sur le site web du Deuxième cycle d'examen périodique universel.

Premier examen périodique universel du Canada

Le premier EPU du Canada a eu lieu le 3 février 2009.

Le rapport national pour le premier EPU du Canada a été soumis à l'ONU en janvier 2009. Le rapport a fourni un aperçu du cadre de promotion et de protection des droits de la personne au Canada, ainsi que des politiques et des programmes connexes, y compris les questions socioéconomiques, les questions autochtones, les droits des femmes, l'immigration et les initiatives anti-discrimination.

Cinquante rapports ont été soumis à l'ONU par la Commission canadienne des droits de la personne, les organismes non gouvernementaux et les groupes autochtones dans le cadre du premier EPU du Canada.

Le Canada a reçu 68 recommandations d'autres États qui couvraient un certain nombre de sujets, y compris la réduction des inégalités pour les groupes défavorisés, les questions autochtones ; la pauvreté et l'itinérance; la violence contre les femmes; et le racisme et la discrimination.

La réponse du Canada aux recommandations, soumise en juin 2009, a été préparée en étroite collaboration avec les ministères fédéraux et les gouvernements provinciaux et territoriaux, conformément aux directives de l'ONU. Le Canada a accepté, en tout ou en partie, 54 des recommandations. Il a également pris neuf engagements volontaires supplémentaires en tant que complément aux recommandations acceptées.

Les documents relatifs au premier EPU du Canada, y compris le rapport national et la réponse du Canada et une compilation des renseignements obtenus parties prenantes, se trouvent sur le site Web de l'Examen périodique universel.

Date de modification :