Light damage calculator

CCI is in the process of transferring content to the new Government of Canada website. The light damage calculator is temporarily unavailable while it is under construction on the new site.

The light damage calculator provides an estimate of the fading of colours exposed to light, based on the best available data. There are several sources of uncertainty:

Despite these uncertainties, the calculator can show the wide sensitivity range of coloured objects and the influence of exhibitions on the future appearance of collections. Original and faded colours are presented as patches on the computer screen. Since some computer screens and many computer projectors, do not distinguish small changes in colour, the height of the faded colour patch also changes in proportion to the amount of fading.

There are three different uses for the light damage calculator. Each calculator includes a text version. The three calculators are the following:

  1. Fading of a single colorant
  2. • Fading of a single colorant – Text version

This provides an estimate of the fading of a single colourant under a single set of conditions. For those interested in the scientific measurement of the fade, the colour difference, ΔE, is also provided.

  1. Fading of a single colorant in three different scenarios
  2. • Fading of a single colorant in three different scenarios – Text version

This provides a side-by-side comparison of the fading caused by three different exposure scenarios.

  1. Fading of a collection of coloured objects
  2. • Fading of a collection of coloured objects – Text version

This presents the fading of collections of colours. These may be collections in the conventional museum sense (such as a textile collection or a watercolour collection), or they may be collections of colours in a particular type of object (such as the three dyes used in a particular kind of colour photograph).

Want to know more?

View a Tour of the Canadian Conservation Institute’s Online Light Damage Calculator by Stefan Michalski, Senior Conservation Scientist, Preventative Conservation Services. Presented by the Connecting to Collections Online Community.

Legal disclaimer

The light damage calculator was designed by the Canadian Conservation Institute as a tool to help museum staff estimate the effects of lighting on the fading of collections or individual objects under various lighting regimes.

The light damage calculator was designed for convenience and should only be used as a reference tool. The Canadian Conservation Institute makes no representation about the accuracy, reliability and completeness of the calculator or the results to be obtained from its use. All information obtained is without any warranty of any kind. The Canadian Conservation Institute disclaims all express, implied and statutory warranties in accordance with the lighting regimes calculated by this calculator and neither assumes any responsibility with respect to any particular results of the fading of objects or collections nor how the results are applied to actual situations.

Contact information for this web page

These resources were published by the Canadian Conservation Institute (CCI). For comments or questions, including reproduction requests, contact the CCI.

Date modified:

Calculateur des dommages causés par la lumière

L'ICC procède actuellement au transfert de certains contenus vers le nouveau site Web du gouvernement du Canada. Le calculateur des dommages causés par la lumière sera hors service jusqu’à ce qu’il soit intégré au nouveau site.

Le calculateur des dommages causés par la lumière fournit une estimation de la détérioration des couleurs exposées à la lumière, selon les meilleures données disponibles. Il existe plusieurs sources d'incertitude :

Malgré ces incertitudes, le calculateur peut indiquer une vaste gamme de sensibilité des objets colorés et l'influence des expositions sur l'aspect futur de collections. L'outil présente un échantillon des couleurs originales et altérées sur l'écran d'ordinateur. Comme certains écrans et plusieurs projecteurs d'ordinateurs ne permettent pas de distinguer les petites variations de couleur, la hauteur des échantillons pour les couleurs altérées change en fonction de la détérioration.

Le calculateur des dommages causés par la lumière a trois utilisations différentes. Chaque calculateur comprend une version accessible. Les trois calculateurs sont les suivants :

  1. Détérioration d'un colorant
  2. • Détérioration d'un colorant (version accessible/texte)

Ce calculateur permet d'estimer la détérioration d'un seul colorant selon une seule série de conditions. Pour ceux qui s'intéressent à la mesure scientifique de la détérioration, la valeur ΔE est fournie.

  1. Détérioration d'un colorant selon trois scénarios différents
  2. • Détérioration d'un colorant selon trois scénarios différents (version accessible/texte)

Ce calculateur permet une comparaison côte à côte des couleurs détériorées selon trois scénarios différents.

  1. Détérioration des couleurs d'une collection d'objets
  2. • Détérioration des couleurs d'une collection d'objets (version accessible/texte)

Ce calculateur permet d'estimer la détérioration d'un ensemble de couleurs, notamment dans des collections muséales classiques (textiles ou aquarelles) ou des ensembles de couleurs au sein du même objet (par exemple, les trois teintures d'une photo couleur).

Vous voulez en savoir plus?

Faites la visite virtuelle intitulée Tour of the Canadian Conservation Institute's Online Light Damage Calculator (en anglais seulement) de Stefan Michalski, scientifique principal en conservation, Services de conservation. Présentée par Connecting to Collections Online Community.

Avertissement

Le calculateur des dommages causés par la lumière a été conçu par l'Institut canadien de conservation (ICC) comme outil permettant au personnel de musée d'évaluer les effets de l'éclairage sur la détérioration des couleurs des objets de collection ou d'objets particuliers exposés à diverses conditions d'éclairage.

Le calculateur des dommages causés par la lumière a été conçu à des fins d'utilisation pratique et doit être exclusivement utilisé comme outil de référence. Les présents renseignements ne constituent en aucun cas une affirmation de la part de l'ICC quant à l'exactitude et à la fiabilité du calculateur et des résultats obtenus avec celui-ci, ni à la nature partielle ou complète de ces mêmes résultats. Toute information obtenue à l'aide du calculateur n'est d'aucune manière garantie comme exacte. L'ICC décline toute responsabilité liée à de quelconques garanties explicites, implicites ou légales ayant trait aux conditions d'éclairage établies par le présent calculateur, ainsi que toute responsabilité liée aux résultats particuliers obtenus en matière d'altération de la couleur des objets ou des collections, ou liée à l'application des résultats dans des conditions réelles.

Coordonnées pour cette page Web

Ces documents sont publiés par l'Institut canadien de conservation (ICC). Pour toutes questions ou commentaires, incluant les demandes de reproduction, communiquez avec l'ICC.

Date de modification :