Heritage interiors

The Canadian Conservation Institute (CCI) is a centre of conservation and scientific expertise. CCI provides services for the preservation of heritage collections which is integral to historic architecture – collectively defined as "heritage interiors."

CCI provides expert services to custodians of publicly accessible Canadian heritage interiors, except those already preserved under existing federal acts, policies or programs that address designation, heritage character, building repair or federal heritage real property inventories.

CCI also has a mandate to investigate the nature of heritage materials and the processes of deterioration of heritage collections. This involves investigation and research into:

Preserving Canada’s Parliament buildings

The Canadian Conservation Institute (CCI) is currently part of a team working on the preservation of key heritage character-defining elements and heritage collections of Canada's Parliament buildings and their heritage interiors. The Canada's Parliamentary Precinct Branch of Public Works and Government Services Canada is leading the team's work.

Learn more about the history of Parliament Hill, and follow the rehabilitation of the parliamentary buildings to see the work that is being done to preserve these historic sites.

CCI's current work on the Parliament buildings, including the West Block, the adjacent Wellington Building, and the former Bank of Montreal Building, includes:

The first step in this series of cascading major capital projects is the rehabilitation of West Block and the rehabilitation of East Block.

House of Commons heritage collections

The Canadian Conservation Institute (CCI) was recently involved with the cleaning and packing of "Regency tent-style" chandeliers, dating from 1840, which hung in the Confederation Room of the West Block. The history of these stunning fixtures is revealed in "A Tale of Six Chandeliers."

Explore other collection profiles found in the precinct of Parliament like the Wellington Building mosaic, which CCI is also helping to preserve.

For additional information or advice on the conservation of heritage interiors, contact the Canadian Conservation Institute.

Contact us

Contact the Canadian Conservation Institute.

Date modified:

Intérieurs patrimoniaux

L'Institut canadien de conservation (ICC) est un centre de conservation et d'expertise scientifique. Il offre des services pour la préservation des collections patrimoniales qui font partie de l'architecture historique et qui sont désignées collectivement par l'expression « intérieurs patrimoniaux ».

L'ICC offre des services d'experts aux gardiens d'intérieurs patrimoniaux canadiens accessibles au grand public, sauf ceux déjà préservés en vertu de lois, de politiques et de programmes fédéraux en vigueur qui visent la désignation, le caractère patrimonial, la réparation des immeubles ou des répertoires de biens immobiliers fédéraux à valeur patrimoniale.

L'ICC a aussi pour mandat d'examiner la nature des matériaux à valeur patrimoniale et les processus de détérioration des collections patrimoniales. Cet examen comprend l'étude et la recherche sur :

Préserver les édifices parlementaires du Canada

L'Institut canadien de conservation (ICC) fait actuellement partie d'une équipe qui travaille à la préservation d'éléments à caractère patrimonial et de collections patrimoniales des édifices du Parlement canadien et de leurs intérieurs patrimoniaux. C'est la Direction générale de la Cité parlementaire de Travaux publics et Services gouvernementaux Canada qui dirige les travaux.

Apprenez-en davantage sur l'histoire de la Colline et suivez la réhabilitation des édifices du Parlement pour découvrir les travaux qui sont effectués pour préserver ces sites historiques.

Les travaux actuels de l'ICC menés aux édifices du Parlement, dont l'édifice de l'Ouest, l'édifice Wellington adjacent et l'édifice de l'ancienne Banque de Montréal, comprennent :

La première étape de cette série d'importants projets d'immobilisations réalisés en cascade est la réhabilitation de l'édifice de l'Ouest et la réhabilitation de l'édifice de l'Est.

Collection patrimoniale de la Chambre des communes

L'Institut canadien de conservation (ICC) a récemment participé au nettoyage et à l'emballage de chandeliers de style Regency, datant de 1840, qui ornaient la salle de la Confédération de l'édifice de l'Ouest. L'histoire de ces chandeliers exceptionnels est dévoilée dans « Il était une fois six chandeliers ».

Découvrez les profils d'autres collections trouvées sur la cité parlementaire, comme la mosaïque de l'édifice Wellington que l'ICC contribue à préserver.

Pour obtenir d'autres renseignements ou des conseils sur la conservation des intérieurs patrimoniaux, communiquez avec l'Institut canadien de conservation.

Pour nous joindre

Communiquez avec l'Institut canadien de conservation.

Date de modification :