Emergency advice

The Canadian Conservation Institute (CCI) offers emergency advice to Canada's heritage community in the aftermath of a fire, flood, earthquake or other catastrophes. For individuals, CCI offers a list of resources containing information on salvaging personal valuables.

For advice from CCI, members of the Canadian heritage community can call 1-866-998-3721 day or night and press 0 for Security.

Inform the operator that you have an emergency to ensure your call is given top priority. During normal working hours your call will be passed immediately to someone who can assist you. During non-working hours, the operator will request the following details from you:

This information will be conveyed to a CCI staff member, and you will be contacted as soon as possible.

If onsite conservation assistance is required, institutions are encouraged to first contact the Canadian Association of Professional Conservators. This association has a list of local conservators that will be able to respond more quickly and will also be more familiar with local resources. However, in the event that local expertise is not available, CCI may provide onsite conservation services.

Date modified:

Conseils en cas d'urgence

L'Institut canadien de conservation (ICC) offre des conseils en cas d'urgence à la communauté canadienne du patrimoine à la suite d’un incendie, d’une inondation, d’un tremblement de terre ou d’une autre catastrophe. Pour les particuliers, l'ICC offre aussi une liste de ressources qui contient de l’information sur la récupération des objets de valeur personnels.

Pour obtenir des conseils de l'ICC, les membres de la communauté canadienne du patrimoine peuvent composer le 1-866-998-3721, jour et nuit, et appuyer sur le 0 pour obtenir la sécurité.

Indiquez au téléphoniste qu'il s'agit d'une urgence pour que votre appel soit traité en priorité. Durant les heures normales de travail, votre appel sera immédiatement transmis à une personne qui pourra vous aider. Après les heures normales de travail, le téléphoniste aura besoin des renseignements suivants :

Cette information sera transmise à un membre du personnel de l'ICC qui communiquera avec vous dans les plus brefs délais.

Les établissements qui ont besoin d'une aide de conservation sur place sont priés de communiquer en premier avec l’Association canadienne des restaurateurs professionnels. Cette association possède une liste de restaurateurs locaux qui peuvent répondre plus rapidement aux demandes et qui sont davantage familiers avec les ressources locales. S'il est toutefois impossible de trouver une expertise locale, l'ICC pourrait offrir une aide sur place.

Date de modification :