Youth Forums Canada – Exchanges Canada

Youth Forums Canada funds Canadian organizations that provide workshops and conferences that connect youth – between the ages of 14 and 25 – to share ideas about Canadian issues, institutions, history, official languages, sports or the arts. Participants meet in a central location, then spend time learning about Canada and exploring a unique Canadian community.

Who can apply

To be eligible, youth must be:

  • a Canadian citizen or permanent resident; and
  • between the ages of 14 and 25.

How to apply

Canadian Heritage supports a number of youth forums each year, which are administered by various delivery organizations. Individuals may apply to participate in a forum by contacting the funded delivery organizations. Two of these delivery organizations are:

  • Encounters with Canada: Every week of the school year, more than 120 teens (ages 14 to 17) come to Ottawa to learn about important Canadian institutions and meet famous and accomplished Canadians. Through an extraordinary, bilingual experience, participants have the chance to discover their country, explore career pathways and develop leadership skills.
  • Forum for Young Canadians: This is a bilingual, non-partisan educational experience for Canadian high school and CEGEP (Quebec) students. Each year, more than 300 students (ages 15 to 19 years) from across the country are selected to participate. Students are brought to Ottawa for an intensive academic adventure that immerses them in the exciting world of national politics and public affairs. Participants have the opportunity to develop leadership skills and to learn about how government and parliamentary democracy works.

Individuals may contact the program for information on other funded organizations.

Costs

Costs vary depending on the youth forum experience. As a general rule, participants should expect to pay registration or application fees as well as costs for local transportation. Please check with the forum delivery organization for further details.

To help offset the costs of a forum, youth may be required to participate in fundraising activities.

Application deadline

Please contact the organizations listed above for deadline details.

Contact us

Contact us
Department of Canadian Heritage
Exchanges Canada Program
15 Eddy Street, 8th Floor
Gatineau, Quebec
K1A 0M5
Email  
PCH.echanges-exchanges.PCH@canada.ca
Telephone      
819-997-0055
1-866-811-0055 (toll-free)
TTY
1-888-997-3123 (toll-free)

Agents are available to answer your questions, Monday to Friday, 8:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. (EST).

Date modified:

Forums jeunesse Canada – Échanges Canada

Forums Jeunesse Canada apporte un financement aux organismes canadiens qui offrent des ateliers et des conférences où des jeunes âgés de 14 à 25 ans ont l’occasion d’échanger des idées sur les institutions, l’histoire et les enjeux canadiens, les langues officielles, les sports ou les arts. Les participants se rencontrent dans un lieu central pour en apprendre davantage sur le Canada et découvrir une communauté canadienne unique.  

Qui peut faire une demande

Pour être admissible, vous devez être :

  • un citoyen canadien ou un résident permanent;
  • âgé de 14 à 25 ans.

Comment faire une demande

Patrimoine canadien appuie plusieurs projets de forums jeunesse chaque année, lesquels sont administrés par divers organismes de prestation. Les personnes intéressées à participer à un forum peuvent présenter une demande auprès des organismes de prestation qui reçoivent du financement. Parmi ces organismes, on compte les deux suivants :

  • Rencontres du Canada : Chaque semaine de l’année scolaire, plus de 120 adolescents âgés de 14 à 17 ans se rendent à Ottawa pour se familiariser avec les institutions canadiennes importantes et rencontrer des Canadiens célèbres et accomplis. Les participants vivent une expérience bilingue mémorable et ont la possibilité de découvrir leur pays, d’explorer des cheminements de carrière et de développer leurs compétences en leadership.
  • Forum pour jeunes Canadiens : Le Forum pour jeunes Canadiens permet aux étudiants des écoles secondaires et des cégeps (Québec) du Canada de vivre une expérience d’apprentissage non partisane dans un contexte bilingue. Chaque année, plus de 300 étudiants âgés de 15 à 19 ans de partout au pays sont choisis pour y participer. Les étudiants sont rassemblés à Ottawa, où ils vivent une aventure académique intense dans le monde emballant de la politique nationale et des affaires publiques. Les participants ont alors l’occasion d’acquérir des compétences en leadership et d’en apprendre davantage sur la démocratie parlementaire et le fonctionnement du gouvernement.

Les personnes intéressées peuvent communiquer avec les responsables de programme pour obtenir de l’information sur d’autres organismes de prestation.

Coûts

Les coûts varient en fonction du forum. En général, les participants doivent s’attendre à payer des frais d’inscription ou de demande, en plus des frais pour le transport local. Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez consulter l’organisme de prestation.

Vous devrez peut-être participer à une campagne de financement pour aider à couvrir les frais de participation.

Date limite pour faire une demande

Veuillez communiquer avec les organismes mentionnés ci-dessus pour obtenir des détails concernant les dates limites.  

Pour nous joindre

Communiquez avec nous
Ministère du Patrimoine canadien  
Programme Échanges Canada
15, rue Eddy, 8e étage
Gatineau (Québec)
K1A 0M5
Courriel          
PCH.echanges-exchanges.PCH@canada.ca
Téléphone      
819-997-0055
1-866-811-0055 (sans frais)
ATS
1-888-997-3123 (sans frais)

Des agents sont disponibles pour répondre à vos questions, du lundi au vendredi, de 8 h 30 à 17 h (HE).

Date de modification :