The Culture, Arts, Heritage and Sport Economic Impact Model

What is Economic Impact Modelling?

Often when a new project or business is opening, advocates emphasize that the endeavor will bring jobs and other economic benefits to a community. These statistics are often grounded in economic impact studies, which use models to estimate the potential positive benefits of a project. Economic impact models assume that changes in expenditure can have ripple effects throughout an economy, and estimate the impact of such changes.

The Culture, Arts, Heritage and Sport Economic Impact Model (CAHSEIM)

Statistics Canada developed the Culture, Arts, Heritage and Sport Economic Impact Model (CAHSEIM) to measure the benefits, also known as economic impacts, of arts, culture, sport and heritage organizations, facilities and events.

This tool is very easy to use for any individual and organization who wishes to evaluate the economic impact of museums, theatres, galleries, arenas and historic sites. It can also be used for arts, culture, sport and heritage related events such as performances, productions, presentations, and festivals.

CAHSEIM estimates impacts for the following economic statistics: labour income, gross domestic product (GDP), employment (total jobs and number of full-time equivalents) and tax revenues. Consult this User Guide for more information on economic impact modelling and instructions on how to use CAHSEIM.

Contact us to get your copy of the Culture, Arts, Heritage and Sport Economic Impact Model in an easy to use Excel spreadsheet.

Date modified:

Modèle d’impact économique de la culture, des arts, du patrimoine, et du sport

Qu’est-ce que la modélisation d’impact économiques?

Souvent, lors d’un nouveau projet ou de l’ouverture d’une entreprise, les défenseurs soulignent que l’initiative créera des emplois et autres avantages économiques pour une collectivité. Ces statistiques sont souvent fondées sur des études d’impacts économiques, lesquelles utilisent des modèles pour évaluer les avantages éventuels d’un projet. Les modèles d’incidences économiques supposent que les changements en matière de dépenses peuvent avoir des retombées dans toute l’économie, et ils évaluent l’incidence de ces changements.

Le Modèle d’impact économique de la culture, des arts, du patrimoine, et du sport (MIECAPS)

Statistique Canada a élaboré le Modèle d’impact économique de la culture, des arts, du patrimoine, et du sport (MIECAPS) afin d’évaluer les avantages, aussi connus comme étant des impacts économiques pour les organismes, les installations et les activités en lien avec l’art, la culture, le sport et le patrimoine.

Cet outil est très facile à utiliser pour toute personne ou organisation souhaitant évaluer les incidences économiques des musées, des théâtres, des galeries, des arénas et des sites historiques. Il peut également servir aux événements relatifs aux arts, à la culture, au sport et au patrimoine tels que les performances, les productions, les présentations et les festivals.

Le MIECAPS examine les statistiques économiques suivantes : les revenus du travail, le produit intérieur brut (PIB), l’emploi (nombre total d’emplois et d’équivalents temps plein) et recettes fiscales. Consultez ce guide de l'utilisateur pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur la modélisation des impacts économiques et des instructions sur l’utilisation du MIECAPS.

Communiquez avec nous pour obtenir votre copie du Modèle d'impact économique de la culture, des arts, du patrimoine, et du sport présenté dans un tableau Excel simple à utiliser.

Date de modification :