LandMarks2017: Canada’s Artistic Nature

Artwork by Raphaelle de Groot.
Sculpture by Canadian contemporary artist Raphaelle de Groot.

Partners in Art (PIA) is showing Canadians that art is in our nature. In celebration of Canada’s 150th anniversary of Confederation LandMarks2017, a Signature Initiative of Canada 150, is using contemporary art to ignite a national dialogue about our collective histories and future.

LandMarks2017 is bringing together a team of nationally acclaimed curators, Canadian contemporary artists, 15 Canadian universities, post-secondary art students, and local communities to collaboratively create works of art. These works will be displayed in national parks, historic sites and urban green spaces across Canada in the summer of 2017. LandMarks Chair Elske Kofman, Partners in Art Chair of the Board Jane Brisebois, and curator Tania Willard help us brush up on the project.

Can you explain the spirit of LandMarks2017, and what Canadians can expect?

Elske: All the artworks are inspired by nature, telling stories of our land, belonging, and the multiplicity of cultures that share it.

Tania: Our unique partnership with Parks Canada allows us to work in a variety of sites from some significant wild locations to highly visited ones, and to realize commissions for a number of artists in Canada. We’re using contemporary art to reflect on 150 years of what complicated history can mean, and what our future might be.

Why do you think the connection between nature and art is important to Canadians?

Tania: Our cities are still connected to nature in a way that might be different than other parts of the world. We’re a place where Indigenous histories and different ecologies have a really important role to play in our daily lives.

Jane: Artistically in Canada, we have a long history of landscape art, and the Indigenous voice that we expect to come through in this project has an important historical attachment to the land. Additionally, the enormity and diversity of Canada’s geography has in many ways defined us as Canadians. Through LandMarks2017, artists will help us to explore how this definition will grow and change in our future.

Elske: Art is a great tool for learning and igniting a conversation. LandMarks2017 is an invitation to reflect on our relationship to the land and to appreciate, enjoy and take care of it.

How are Indigenous artists playing a role in LandMarks2017?

The emphasis on Indigenous practice really came from the curators looking at artists who could respond to the land and engage with communities. As a person of Indigenous heritage myself, there is a deep grounding in Indigenous knowledge around the importance of land and our deep connection to it. I think there’s a tendency, if you haven’t had the chance to connect to the land, to see yourself as apart from it, but clean water and nature are basic human needs.

Rebecca Belmore.
Artist Rebecca Belmore scopes out a national park.

Some of the projects are in rural areas, do you think the artworks will be an incentive for Canadians to explore the country?

Elske: One of the reasons Parks Canada came on board is because they’re excited to drive a younger audience to our amazing parks, and bring them to people’s attention in urban areas. Our aim is to leave a lasting legacy for generations of Canadians to engage with one another and make contemporary art accessible both in Parks Canada’s natural surroundings and on the LandMarks2017 interactive website.

Tania: People who are willing to go to a remote place to experience the artwork will feel very rewarded, but many of the works are happening in more popular parks, like Banff National Park, and our website will have ways for people to collaborate and participate if they can’t be there in person.

What kind of pieces do you see arising based on the different locations?

Tania: The curatorial team has done site visits this summer in Haida Gwaii, Pacific Rim, Mingan Archipelago, Thousand Islands and Rouge National Park. We have a unique connection between the park sites; Rouge, for example, is the first urban park in the outskirts of Toronto, and it’s paired with Thousand Islands, one of the oldest and largest national parks east of The Rockies. In these amazing locations the artist will be responding to everything from their own identity and place, to the world that we may not think about.

Jin-me Yoon, a Korean-Canadian artist based in Vancouver will investigate the idea of “emplacement” (the process of setting something in place) in a photographic series and video, while Ursula Johnson, a Mi'kmaw Artist of Eskasoni First Nation living in Dartmouth, will work with diverse communities in Cape Breton.

Why did Partners in Art want to be a part of the Canada 150 celebrations?

Jane: Our mission is to champion Canadian contemporary art and artists for the perspective that artists can provide us about life and living. We felt strongly that Canada 150 was an opportunity to create a national contemporary art project as an in-depth way to have a conversation about how to create a country that we all love, respect and care for.

LandMarks2017 is happening in national parks and historic sites across Canada from June 10-25, 2017. Watch this space for updates.

Date modified:

Repères2017 : nature artistique du Canada

Œuvre de Raphaelle de Groot.
Sculpture de l’artiste contemporaine canadienne Raphaelle de Groot.

Partners in Art (PIA) montre aux Canadiens que l’art est dans notre nature. Dans le cadre des célébrations du 150e anniversaire de la Confédération du Canada, Repères2017, un projet Signature de Canada 150, fait appel à l’art contemporain pour engager un dialogue national sur nos histoires et notre avenir collectifs.

Repères2017 a créé une équipe regroupant des conservateurs reconnus à l’échelle nationale, des artistes contemporains canadiens, 15 universités canadiennes, des étudiants en arts de niveau postsecondaire et des communautés locales pour créer, en collaboration, des œuvres d’art. Ces œuvres seront exposées dans des parcs nationaux, des lieux historiques et des espaces verts urbains un peu partout au Canada durant l’été 2017. Elske Kofman, présidente de Repères, Jane Brisebois, présidente du conseil d’administration de Partners in Art, et Tania Willard, conservatrice, nous aident à nous mettre au fait du projet.

Pouvez-vous expliquer l’esprit de Repères2017 et ce à quoi les Canadiens peuvent s’attendre?

Elske : Toutes les œuvres s’inspirent de la nature, racontent des histoires sur notre pays, notre appartenance et la multiplicité des cultures qu’on y retrouve.

Tania : Notre partenariat unique avec Parcs Canada nous permet de travailler dans divers lieux, aussi bien dans des régions sauvages que dans des secteurs très fréquentés. Nous faisons appel à l’art contemporain pour susciter une réflexion sur les 150 ans du Canada.

Pourquoi pensez-vous que le lien entre la nature et l’art est important pour les Canadiens?

Tania : Nos villes sont encore en lien avec la nature d’une façon qui peut être différente de ce qui existe dans d’autres régions du monde. Nous vivons dans un pays où les histoires autochtones et les divers écosystèmes ont un rôle très important à jouer dans nos vies quotidiennes.

Jane : Du point de vue artistique, le Canada a une longue tradition d’art du paysage, et la voix autochtone qui, nous prévoyons, retentira à la suite de ce projet a un important attachement historique à la terre. Dans le cadre de Repères2017, les artistes nous aideront à examiner comment cette définition se développera et changera dans notre avenir.

Elske : L’art est un excellent outil d’apprentissage et d’amorce d’une conversation. Repères2017 est une invitation à réfléchir à notre relation avec la terre, à l’apprécier et à en prendre soin.

Quel est le rôle des artistes autochtones dans Repères2017?

Tania : Ce sont les restaurateurs qui ont mis l’accent sur la pratique autochtone après avoir observé des artistes sensibles à l’esprit de la terre et capables de mobiliser les communautés. Moi-même d’origine autochtone, je suis d’avis que le savoir autochtone est solidement ancré dans l’importance que revêt la terre et les liens profonds qui nous unissent à elle.

Rebecca Belmore.
L’artiste Rebecca Belmore évalue les possibilités d’un parc national.

Certains projets sont réalisés en milieu rural. Pensez-vous que les œuvres d’art inciteront les Canadiens à explorer le pays?

Elske : Parcs Canada a décidé de participer au projet, entre autres, parce qu’il est enthousiaste à l’idée d’inciter un public plus jeune à visiter nos magnifiques parcs et d’attirer sur eux l’attention des gens qui vivent dans les zones urbaines. En plus de vouloir laisser un legs durable qui amènera les générations futures de Canadiens à engager le dialogue les uns avec les autres, nous souhaitons rendre l’art contemporain accessible aussi bien dans le milieu naturel de Parcs Canada que sur le site Web interactif de Repères2017.

Tania : Les personnes qui sont prêtes à se rendre à un endroit éloigné pour avoir accès à une œuvre d’art trouveront l’expérience très gratifiante. Cela dit, bon nombre des œuvres sont exposées dans des parcs plus fréquentés, comme le parc national de Banff, et notre site Web offrira des moyens qui permettront aux gens de collaborer et de participer à l’activité s’ils ne peuvent pas se rendre sur place.

À quel type d’œuvres les différents emplacements pourraient-ils donner lieu?

Tania : L’équipe des conservateurs a visité les lieux suivants : Haida Gwaii, le littoral du Pacifique, l’archipel de Mingan, les Mille-Îles et le parc national de la Rouge. Nous avons établi des liens uniques entre les sites des parcs; le parc de la Rouge, par exemple, est le premier parc urbain aménagé en périphérie de Toronto. Il est jumelé avec le parc des Mille-Îles, un des plus anciens et des plus grands parcs nationaux à l’est des Rocheuses. Dans ces sites magnifiques, l’artiste réagira à tout ce qui l’entoure, à sa propre identité et à sa place dans l’espace, à un monde auquel nous ne pensons peut‑être pas.

Jin-me Yoon, une artiste canadienne d’origine coréenne qui vit à Vancouver, étudiera l’idée d’« emplacement » (le processus de mettre en place quelque chose) dans une série de photographies et de vidéos, tandis qu’Ursula Johnson, une artiste mi'kmaq de la Première Nation d’Eskasoni qui vit à Dartmouth, collaborera avec diverses collectivités du Cap-Breton.

Pourquoi Partners in Art souhaite-il participer aux célébrations du 150e anniversaire du Canada?

Jane : Notre mission consiste à nous faire les champions de l’art et des artistes contemporains canadiens dans l’optique de diffuser la perspective des artistes sur la vie en général. Pour nous, Canada 150 est l’occasion de créer un projet d’art contemporain à l’échelle nationale comme moyen approfondi de nouer un dialogue sur la façon de créer un pays que nous tous aimons, respectons et prenons soin.

Repères2017 se déroulera dans les parcs nationaux et les lieux historiques du Canada du 10 au 25 juin 2017. Consultez cet espace pour vous tenir au courant des dernières nouvelles.

Date de modification :