Overview – Court Challenges Program

The Department of Canadian Heritage, in collaboration with the Department of Justice, is reinstating and modernizing the Court Challenges Program (CCP). The CCP will provide financial support to Canadians to bring cases of national significance related to constitutional and quasi-constitutional official language rights and human rights before the courts.

The new CCP will be implemented and managed by an organization independent of the government. Funding decisions will be made by two independent expert panels – one for language rights and one for human rights. These panels will report to the independent organization.

Before funding requests can be accepted, two components must be implemented:

Program Administration

An independent organization will be responsible for implementing and managing the new CCP. This organization will be selected through an open and transparent proposal assessment process.

Read more about the Program Administration component of the CCP.

Expert Panels

Decisions regarding CCP funding will be rendered by two independent expert panels: an Official Language Rights Expert Panel and a Human Rights Expert Panel. Each panel will consist of seven experts (e.g. key figures from the legal field such as former judges, recognized experts on linguistic or human rights) and will report to the independent organization.

The seven members of each expert panel will be designated through an open, transparent and merit-based selection process, in accordance with the established approach for Government of Canada appointments.

More information on this process will be available in the coming months.

Official language and human rights funding

We are not currently accepting funding requests for individuals or groups seeking to initiate test cases pertaining to rights and freedoms covered by the Program. The process to select the independent organization and the members of the Expert Panels is not yet complete.

Information on when funding requests can be submitted will be available in the coming months.

Date modified:

Aperçu – Programme de contestation judiciaire

Le ministère du Patrimoine canadien, en collaboration avec le ministère de la Justice, rétablit et modernise le Programme de contestation judiciaire (PCJ). Le PCJ fournira un appui financier aux Canadiens pour qu’ils présentent devant les tribunaux des causes d’importance nationale liées à certains droits constitutionnels et quasi constitutionnels en matière de langues officielles et de droits de la personne.

Le nouveau PCJ sera mise en œuvre et géré par un organisme indépendant du gouvernement. Les décisions relatives au financement seront prises par deux comités d’experts indépendants – l’un pour les droits en matière de langues officielles et l’autre pour les droits de la personne. Ces comités relèveront de l’organisme indépendant.

Avant d’accepter les demandes de financement, deux composantes devront être mises en place :

Administration du Programme

Un organisme indépendant sera responsable de mettre en œuvre et de gérer le nouveau PCJ. Cet organisme sera sélectionné grâce à un processus d’évaluation des propositions ouvert et transparent.

Découvrez en plus sur l'Administration du Programme du PCJ.

Comités d’experts

Les décisions concernant le financement du PCJ seront prises par deux comités d’experts indépendants, soit un comité d’experts chargé des droits en matière de langues officielles et un comité d’experts chargé des droits de la personne. Les comités seront chacun composés de sept experts (p. ex., des personnalités du domaine juridique telles que d’anciens juges, des experts reconnus en matière de droits linguistiques ou de droits de la personne) et relèveront de l’organisme indépendant.

Les sept membres de chaque comité d’experts seront sélectionnés à l’aide d’un processus ouvert, transparent et fondé sur le mérite, conformément à l’approche établie pour l’ensemble des nominations du gouvernement du Canada.

De plus amples détails sur ce processus seront disponibles dans les prochains mois.

Appui financier aux droits en matière de langues officielles et aux droits de la personne

Aucune demande de financement ne peut être déposée en ce moment pour les personnes ou les groupes qui souhaitent initier des causes types liées aux droits et aux libertés couverts par le Programme. Le processus pour sélectionner l’organisme indépendant et les membres des comités d’experts n’est pas encore terminé.

L’information sur la date à laquelle les demandes de financement peuvent être soumises sera disponible dans les prochains mois.

Date de modification :