RE-ORG: Canada (West)

Towards a museum storage reorganization network.

Training announcement

Application deadline:
September 11 2017
Training dates:
September 2017 to November 2018
Language of instruction:
English
Eligibility:
Small to medium-sized museums in British Columbia, Alberta and Yukon (see Who should apply?)
Delivery:
Distance mentoring, face-to-face training, online learning
Facilitator:
Simon Lambert, Preservation Development Advisor, Canadian Conservation Institute
Registration fee:
CAN$1,500 per museum team (two participants)
© Government of Canada, Canadian Conservation Institute. CCI 128843-0004
Figure 1. Storage area before reorganization.
© Government of Canada, Canadian Conservation Institute. CCI 128843-0009
Figure 2. Storage area after reorganization.

Background

Dealing with storage is an important challenge for most museums. When storage is disorganized, collections are no longer accessible and their potential benefit to the public is limited. The RE-ORG method for reorganizing storage in small museums, which was developed in 2011 by ICCROM (International Centre for the Study of the Preservation and Restoration of Cultural Property) and UNESCO, will be the main tool used in this training. Since 2014, as part of this program, 14 RE-ORG projects have been successfully implemented by participating museums in Ontario, New Brunswick, Prince Edward Island, Nova Scotia and Quebec.

Training description

With RE-ORG: Canada, CCI seeks to inspire a new generation of leaders in storage reorganization. Storage reorganization focuses on improving existing storage areas, not on planning and building new facilities. The fourth edition of RE-ORG: Canada targets museums from the Western region (British Columbia, Alberta and Yukon). Only museums from this region may apply.

Throughout the 14-month program, which includes individual work, a face-to-face practical training workshop and various online learning opportunities, up to six museums (two participants per museum) will prepare a condition report to identify the key issues affecting access and the overall preservation of their collection. They will then prepare a reorganization project and implement it. If your museum is selected, you will receive ongoing personalized support from CCI and you will be in contact (mainly virtually through teleconferencing) with the other participating museums throughout the program.

CCI has partnered with ICCROM to provide the didactic tools for this training. Note that as part of the RE-ORG International program, groups from other countries will also be taking part in RE-ORG training at the same time as RE-ORG West.

Objectives

As part of this training, your museum will:

Registration fee

CAN$1,500 per museum team (includes two participants). This fee includes:

Funding opportunities

If your museum is selected to participate in RE-ORG: Canada (West) and you need financial assistance, you could work with Museums Assistance Program (MAP) officers at Canadian Heritage to prepare a special grant application for the equipment costs associated with your project (up to 50% in matching funding, maximum CAN$10,000 per project, special application deadline for this project is January 19, 2018). Further details will be provided once the selection process is complete.

To cover other costs, such as travel costs for attending the four-day advanced seminar or the registration fee, we encourage you to seek independent funding, for example, by sending an application to your provincial or territorial museums association or the Canadian Museums Association’s (CMA) Mid-Career Professional Development Bursary or Emerging Professional Development Bursary. If you are a Canadian Association for Conservation (CAC) member, you may be eligible for a Professional Development Bursary.

Who should apply?

If you answered “YES” to all the above questions, you may be eligible to apply. See the full selection criteria below.

Selection criteria

To be selected as a RE-ORG participating museum, your institution must:

To be eligible for the Museums Assistance Program (MAP) grants (Collections Management component), applicants must:

Note

RE-ORG participating museums do not have to apply for MAP funding if they can identify other means of funding their project.

Timeline

WorkshopsDates
Program inauguration and introduction to RE-ORG
Delivery: Webinar, video conference
Week of September 18, 2017
Storage condition report: defining your needs
Delivery: individual work, distance mentoring, online learning
September 18 to December 31, 2017
CCI visit: one-on-one troubleshooting
Delivery: personalized half-day work session with each of the project teams in their museum
Week of November 20, 2017 (tentative)
Four-day advanced seminar: getting practical reorganization experience
Delivery: face-to-face workshop
March 6 to 9, 2018
Preparation of the Storage Action Plan: structuring your project
Delivery: individual work, distance mentoring, online learning
March and April 2018
Implementation and communication:putting your plan into action and sharing the results
  • public outreach activity in your community
  • dissemination to the wider professional community
Delivery: individual work, distance mentoring, online learning
May to November 2018
Evaluation and final webinar November 2018
Assistance to partner museum 2019

Partners

Frequently asked questions

Further questions?

Contact CCI at PCH.iccservices-cciservices.PCH@canada.ca.

Apply now!

To obtain your application package, contact CCI at PCH.iccservices-cciservices.PCH@canada.ca.

Date modified:

RE-ORG : Canada (Ouest)

Vers un réseau de réorganisation des réserves de musées.

Annonce de la formation

Date limite de présentation des demandes d’inscription :
7 août 2017
Dates de la formation :
septembre 2017 à novembre 2018
Langue d’enseignement :
anglais
Admissibilité :
musées de petite et de moyenne taille en Colombie-Britannique, en Alberta et au Yukon (voir Qui peut présenter une demande?)
Méthodes de prestation :
mentorat à distance, formation en personne, apprentissage en ligne
Animateur :
Simon Lambert, conseiller en développement de la préservation, Institut canadien de conservation
Frais d’inscription :
1 500 $ CA par équipe (deux participants par musée)
© Gouvernement du Canada, Institut canadien de conservation. ICC 128843-0004
Figure 1. Réserve avant la réorganisation.
© Gouvernement du Canada, Institut canadien de conservation. ICC 128843-0009
Figure 2. Réserve après la réorganisation.

Contexte

L’organisation des réserves est un défi de taille pour la plupart des musées. Lorsque l’organisation des réserves des musées laisse à désirer, les collections ne sont plus accessibles et les avantages que peuvent en retirer les membres du public sont limités. La méthode RE ORG pour la réorganisation des réserves dans les petits musées a été élaborée en 2011 par l’ICCROM (Centre international d’études pour la conservation et la restauration des biens culturels) et l’UNESCO. Ce sera le principal outil que nous utiliserons pendant cette formation. Dans le cadre du présent programme, les musées participants de l’Ontario, du Nouveau-Brunswick, de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard, de la Nouvelle-Écosse et du Québec ont réussi la mise en œuvre de 14 projets RE-ORG depuis 2014.

Description de la formation

Grâce à RE-ORG : Canada, l’ICC vise à inspirer une nouvelle génération de spécialistes de la réorganisation des réserves. La réorganisation est axée sur l’amélioration de réserves existantes, et non sur la planification et la construction de nouvelles installations. La quatrième édition de RE ORG : Canada s’adresse aux musées de la région de l’Ouest (Colombie-Britannique, Alberta et Yukon). Seuls les musées situés dans cette région peuvent s’inscrire.

Pendant le programme d’une durée de 14 mois, qui comprend des travaux individuels, un atelier de formation pratique en personne et diverses possibilités d’apprentissage en ligne, jusqu’à six musées (à raison de deux participants par musée) travailleront à l’élaboration d’un rapport sur l’état de leur réserve afin de cerner les problèmes principaux ayant une incidence sur l’accessibilité et la préservation de leur collection. Ils concevront ensuite un projet de réorganisation et le mettront en œuvre. Si votre musée est choisi, vous recevrez un suivi personnalisé et continu de la part de l’ICC et vous serez en contact avec les autres musées participants (principalement au moyen de la téléconférence) pendant toute la durée du programme.

L’ICC a fait équipe avec l’ICCROM pour fournir les outils didactiques pour cette formation. Il est à noter que des groupes RE-ORG d’ailleurs dans le monde suivront aussi la formation en même temps que le groupe de l’Ouest dans le cadre du programme RE-ORG International.

Objectifs

Dans le cadre de la présente formation, votre musée pourra :

Frais d’inscription

1 500 $ CA par équipe (deux participants par musée). Ces frais comprennent :

Possibilités de financement

Si votre musée est choisi pour participer à RE-ORG : Canada (Ouest) et que vous avez besoin de financement, vous pourrez travailler en collaboration avec des agents du Programme d’aide aux musées (PAM) de Patrimoine canadien afin de préparer une demande de subvention spéciale visant l’équipement associé à votre projet (jusqu’à 50 % en fonds de contrepartie, pour un maximum de 10 000 $ CA par projet; la date limite de présentation des demandes de subvention spéciale pour le présent projet est le 19 janvier 2018). Nous fournirons plus d’information à ce sujet lorsque le processus de sélection sera terminé.

En ce qui concerne les autres coûts, comme les coûts de déplacement pour le séminaire avancé de quatre jours ou les frais d’inscription, nous vous encourageons à trouver des sources de financement indépendantes en soumettant, par exemple, une demande à votre association muséale provinciale ou territoriale ou à l’Association des musées canadiens pour une bourse de Perfectionnement professionnel de mi-carrière ou de Perfectionnement professionnel de début de carrière. Si vous êtes membre de l’Association canadienne pour la conservation et la restauration (ACCR), vous pourriez être admissible à l’une des Bourses de perfectionnement professionnel.

Qui peut présenter une demande?

Si vous avez répondu « OUI » à toutes ces questions, vous pourriez être admissible à la formation. Veuillez consulter la liste complète des critères de sélection ci dessous.

Critères de sélection

Pour être sélectionné à titre de musée participant au programme RE-ORG, votre établissement doit :

Pour être admissibles au financement du Programme d’aide aux musées (PAM) (volet Gestion des collections), les candidats doivent :

Remarque

Les musées participant à RE-ORG ne sont pas obligés de présenter une demande de financement au PAM s’ils peuvent trouver d’autres sources de financement pour leur projet.

Calendrier

AteliersDates
Début du programme et introduction à RE-ORG
Méthodes de prestation : webinaire, vidéoconférence
Semaine du 4 septembre 2017
Rapport sur l’état de la réserve : définir les besoins
Méthodes de prestation : travail individuel, mentorat à distance, apprentissage en ligne
Du 11 septembre au 31 décembre 2017
Visite de l’ICC : séance individuelle de résolution de problèmes
Méthode de prestation : séance de travail personnalisée d’une demi-journée avec chaque équipe du projet dans leur musée
Semaine du 20 novembre 2017 (provisoire)
Séminaire avancé de quatre jours : acquérir de l’expérience pratique en réorganisation
Méthode de prestation : atelier sur place
Du 6 au 9 mars 2018
Préparation du plan d’action de la réserve : structurer le projet
Méthodes de prestation : travail individuel, mentorat à distance, apprentissage en ligne
Mars et avril 2018
Mise en œuvre et communication :mettre en œuvre le plan et faire part des résultats
  • activité de rayonnement dans la collectivité
  • présentation des résultats au milieu professionnel
Méthodes de prestation : travail individuel, mentorat à distance, apprentissage en ligne
De mai à novembre 2018
Évaluation et webinaire final Novembre 2018
Aide au musée partenaire 2019

Partenaires

Foire aux questions

Des questions?

Communiquez avec l’ICC à PCH.iccservices-cciservices.PCH@canada.ca.

Présentez votre demande d’inscription dès maintenant!

Pour obtenir votre trousse de demande d’inscription, communiquez avec l’ICC à PCH.iccservices-cciservices.PCH@canada.ca.

Date de modification :